Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Christmas Crazy

For the past 2 weeks, I was busy with the preparations for our company’s Christmas party. I felt that I was going crazy soon. I am not the chief in this sports club committee, everybody is treated equally among the 4 of us. However, it seems like I am the one who always keep the ball rolling and I am tired of it. None of them would call for a meeting, I have to take the lead. None of them would act upon a task until I say do it. None of them take initiative or volunteer for a task until I assign it. I enjoy being a leader, but not in this group. Everyone of us is holding the same position, I do not want to be seen as giving out instructions and orders. Someone accused me of that before, I do not want the history to repeat. But things have got to move! No one is doing a damn thing! Again, I have to be the bad person to distribute the tasks. Most of the times I am doing it alone. My boss told me to “discuss with the rest, don’t do everything on your own”. Well, it’s easier said than done!

Went back to KT last week and I took a day off on Monday. I was pretty upset when I came back to work and found out that no one has done anything with regards to the party. The rules for the games were not drafted, the program of the night was not laid out, the box for lucky draw was not there, no discussion was held among them…… What?! The party was on that very night! The other committee member was on medical leave, when I called her, she told me she was busy in the office and didn’t have time. As though I am the one who is god damn freaking free to organise all these! Ya, right, everyone is busy except Ashley!

From the party venue, right up to the prizes, I am very proud to say that I did it all by myself. Sometimes I am impressed with my own capabilities. LOL!

How my hard work is going to pay off? I have no idea. There’s a high chance I wouldn’t get rewarded for organising all the parties and trips. I am a self-motivated person. Without the external motivation, I could still get things done beautifully. Why? ‘Cause I know at the end, I would be the one who gain the most. The experience is something that you can’t buy, you have to go through it to earn it.

Enough of self-praised and grumble. Back to work.

One response

  1. Nee

    Yeah, i agree with you

    January 1, 2010 at 9:47 PM

Leave a Reply

