Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Maxis No Longer Has It

Tried posting this on TheStar blog, am not sure if they would publish it.

What an unpleasant experience with Maxis. This is going to be a long post, of what happened. I’m not trying to tarnish Maxis’ name. It is only the experience that puts me off and the way they do things frustrate me.

My employer signed a SME contract with Maxis 9 months ago. We ported-in 15 lines from another telco operator. We are pretty happy with Maxis despite the reception problems we encounter once in a blue moon. I must also give credit to its Corporate Customer Care centre. Yes, for Maxis Business, you have to dial a different hotline. The general call centre will not entertain inquiries for business account. That is fine with me, since they would understand the business package better. They have been addressing my queries to my satisfaction.

As some of you may be aware, Maxis has a very attractive SME package recently. Sign up for a new line with Maxis with the Value Plus 150 for 2 years, you get a BlackBerry Curve 8520 for free! My employer jumped at this “golden opportunity” of course.

On 23rd February 2010, I personally went to Maxis Centre KLCC to register 6 additional lines under the company name. All 6 of them with 2 years contract with Maxis, come under the plan Value Plus 150, and we get 6 BlackBerry Curve 8520 for free. I got 6 SIM cards on the very same day. That is efficient. All 6 of them were activated on the same day, but without the additional phones, I couldn’t put this 6 phone lines to good use. The lady in the KLCC centre told me normally I’d have to wait 2 weeks for the phones to be delivered.

On 9th March 2010, I called the corporate customer care to check on the delivery status. The customer care agent told me it would take 2 weeks. So, I asked him “2 weeks from 23/02 meaning latest by 14/03 I would get the phones?” He told me yes. Never mentioned to me there was a problem and didn’t tell me the status. Okay, I took his words for good. Waited for another week.

On 15th March 2010, I have yet to receive the BlackBerry. Called Maxis again on the same day. Another customer care agent told me that the phones have not been delivered yet, there seemed to be some problem with the order. I was surprised as no one called to tell me there was a problem and when I called a week ago, the other agent didn’t tell me too. He said he would check further and give me a call later that day. The call didn’t come. I waited for another 3 days. My employer has been asking me questions and I couldn’t answer because Maxis couldn’t give me an answer too.

Called Maxis on 18th March 2010 again, in the morning. My 3rd time repeating the story to another customer care agent. She said would follow-up with this case personally and promised would ask the person in charge for the phone order to give me a call. 3pm I didn’t receive any call, I made another call to that customer care agent again. Good, the person from Maxis Centre KLCC called finally, at 5.30pm, requesting me to get my director’s signature immediately on the new addendum so that she could place the order. What? The order for the BlackBerry has not been placed? And 3 weeks later you told me there was a new addendum I had to fill up and sign? It took you 3 weeks to realise and tell me that? Nobody ever bothered to tell me or check despite the calls that I have made over the past 3 weeks?

Got the new addendum signed and emailed to 4 of them on 19th March, 1pm. She promised her team would place the order immediately upon receiving the signed addendum. And it would only take 3 or 4 days to deliver the phones after the order was placed. I was satisfied back then, despite the slight delay.

22nd March morning, sent an email to all 4 of them to inquire on the status. One of them replied “will check on it”. Since then, I have not heard a word from them.

24th March, sent another email to them to request a reply. No reply from them too. I called the customer care centre again on that same day, the agent told me she sent an urgent email to that team of 4 and promised would give me a call by end of business day that day. I was silly to believe in the lies once more. As you may have expected, the call never came.

Called them again this afternoon, around 2.30pm. It is another customer care agent. Mind you, this is perhaps the 5th or 6th agent I have talked to regarding this matter. All they could do was asking me if “anyone called or emailed”. She checked and told me, the phone order was placed yesterday evening. What? Did I hear you wrong? Yesterday evening? Didn’t I send the addendum last Friday and she promised me the order would be placed right upon they received it? Once again she told me she would investigate and give me a call. Oh no, I would be a fool to believe that now, wouldn’t I? I insisted to talk to their manager, aka their Team Leader. I told her, I want an answer from that Maxis Centre KLCC team right now. Someone would better give me a call by today, to explain why the order was placed only yesterday, why no one bothered to give me a call despite numerous reminders and they owe me an apology for the delay of the delivery and all the time spent talking to them on the phone. She again promised me would get the Maxis Centre KLCC team to give me a call by 3pm today. And the Team Leader would call me by next Monday to update me on the delivery status. Gosh, how long more I have to wait?!

People, it is 4.40pm now. While I am writing this, no call came through my precious phone that lies just 7 inches away from me. The signal is good, reception is ok, but no call came. For your information, I am personally a Maxis user too.

Is this the torment that you have to go through to get Maxis to do it? My trust with Maxis is totally broken.

As my case may come off as one in a million, I truly understand that there are lots of people who are having good relationship with Maxis. I must admit I was a satisfied customer until today. The empty promises, the lack of urgency towards its customer’s business, they are enough to frustrate you.

Sigh…… Now, I shall call the customer care centre again. I wonder what promise or excuses they’re going to give this time.

Note: No names were mentioned because I understand that this is a public blog.

Update 6.09pm: The person in charge for the phone order in Maxis Centre KLCC hasn’t called. I made a call to the customer care centre again and the Team Leader told me she would try to get him to call me and explain to me. What? Too afraid to explain to me about the delay? Empty promises again? This ain’t right. Maxis is definitely losing it, FAST!

4 responses

  1. skteck

    use digi..

    April 5, 2010 at 3:21 PM

    • Ashley

      Haih… last time from Digi switched to Maxis leh… but now i lost trust in Maxis liao…….

      April 5, 2010 at 3:41 PM

  2. LSC

    Hi,
    I experienced what you been :-) I meet up with an agent which is doing SME/Corporate BB with Maxis. Its efficient and they provide an excellent service, you do not need to walk in to center , they will come to your office if you need. Let me know if you need contact in future.

    April 21, 2010 at 6:55 PM

    • Ashley

      Hi there, I’ve signed up this SME package with an agent too, but he too resigned and the vendor doesn’t provide any replacement thereafter and they weren’t very helpful too. What a bummer. Anyway, thanks. Will certainly get the contact from when there’s a need. Thanks again.

      April 22, 2010 at 9:24 PM

Leave a Reply

