Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

The Buried Life #1

Last week, the idea struck my mind. However, this charity event was scheduled and planned way before that. The last time I was involved in a charity event, I guess it was about 7 or 8 years ago. I am not going to find excuses for myself as I know perfectly that if there’s a will, there’s a way.

Last month, a dear friend invited me (via Facebook) to attend a charity event, a visit to an orphanage that needs help/fund. I saw the address and the story, without hesitation, I asked Andrew if he would be available because I would love to go as the orphanage is so near to where we stay. Luckily Andrew was ok with it.

There is so little that I could do. I know I couldn’t contribute in terms of monetary, but I’d still love to help. Finally, Vivian asked if I could prepare some food for the children. Of course I’d be more than happy to help. With the help of Andrew’s aunt, I could only prepare nuggets and hotdogs. Hahaha.

There are about 50 of them. When I saw their living condition, my heart sank. There is a girl’s home and boy’s home. Each home’s occupying about 20+ of them. Such a small house, for 20 over of them! They do not even have dining table where they can all sit together to eat. In the past, they did not have beds! It was with the help of Vivian’s friends that they now have enough double-decker beds.

I felt sad, looking at their innocent faces and smiles…… Their eyes, are sparkling with hopes. I wonder what their future holds. There were a few girls and boys that captured my heart. When I heard one of them said he wants to be a doctor when he grows up, I couldn’t help but got teary.

They couldn’t thank us enough for visiting them, but I don’t think that I deserve the thank-you’s as I have not done much to help to improve their life. Perhaps I could do more next time.

Hearing that they do not have a refrigerator in the boy’s home, seeing that I have one at home now which is not functioning and stand idling there, perhaps it’s time to get someone to come and have a look. Hopefully it is repairable and I could then send it to the home.

image

All ready for the games.

image

Her name is Abi Rami. She’s a very sweet and caring girl.

image

Taught them how to pose with the “V”! Hahahaha! They learned quick!

image

image

Here’s the food that we prepared. :) The kids love KFC. Well, who doesn’t? :D

Went home, with a heart filled with joy and sadness.

If you would like to make a visit to the Sanctuary Care Centre, here’s the address:

Girl’s Home: No. 73, Jalan Ayer Panas Baharu, Air Panas, 53200 Setapak, Kuala Lumpur

Boy’s Home: Jalan Ayer Kuning 3, Setapak, Kuala Lumpur.

You are welcome to donate clothes, books, school uniforms, shoes, etc…… You may also want to check with the centre caretaker on what they need the most.

I found this website from the internet. There’s the contact details in there.

Ti’s the season to be jolly, and sharing too. :)

Are you still complaining about couldn’t finish that chicken, couldn’t sleep in that new bed of yours, not having enough of clothes to wear? :)

2 responses

  1. Would like to thank Ash, Miu & friends for the kindness & contributions!!! May God Bless You All =)

    December 21, 2010 at 9:29 AM

    • Ashley

      Mel Mel! Thank you!!! Don’t need thank me lah. hahahaha…… I buat sikit saje :P
      Hopefully next time I can do more. :D

      December 21, 2010 at 9:34 AM

Leave a Reply

