Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

My Shallow Mind

Poor you
Not knowing the world outside
Having such shallow mind
And your creativity dies
The need to scout ideas
Has never crossed your mind
Nothing new
Nothing fresh
Nothing feels as much
Like a breath of fresh air

Shame on me
Having such shallow mind
Not having the open mind
I see only the shortest sight
Improvise I shall
Be brave I will

Shame on you
Digging only my shallow mind
Feeding on my thoughts alike
Seeing through my shortest sight
Improvise you shall not
Be brave you will not

Fortune favors the brave
I shall have that last praise
~ ~ Ashley

27 responses

  1. Pingback: Thursday Poets Rally Week 38 (Feb 17-23) | Jingle

  2. love it…

    I see your comment and linked your entry in.

    have fun visiting..
    :)

    February 21, 2011 at 10:40 AM

  3. I really like the way you wrote this !

    February 21, 2011 at 10:57 AM

    • Ashley

      Thanks for taking time to read this. :)

      February 21, 2011 at 11:18 AM

  4. Hi, Ashley. Thanks for sharing this. Because your poem inspired me to do better in writing, despite my lack of English vocabs. ^^

    Keep on writing, and happy rally.

    -dhitzunako-

    http://dhitermination.wordpress.com/2011/02/21/hows-the-sky-out-there/

    February 21, 2011 at 11:16 PM

    • Ashley

      Thank you. :) I’m glad that you like it.

      February 23, 2011 at 11:04 AM

  5. happens to the best of us at times :)

    https://rrel.wordpress.com/2011/02/16/the-way-your-roots-reach-into-me/

    February 22, 2011 at 12:00 AM

    • Ashley

      Robin, thanks for reading. Yep, happens all the time. :)

      February 23, 2011 at 11:04 AM

  6. Nicely written. I like the juxtaposition of words and phrases.

    February 22, 2011 at 7:26 PM

    • Ashley

      Thank you! :)

      February 23, 2011 at 11:05 AM

  7. A shallow mind couldnt write such a great piece like this. :)

    February 23, 2011 at 3:31 AM

    • Ashley

      Thank you! I still have a lot to learn from other great poets, like yourself. :)

      February 23, 2011 at 11:10 AM

  8. ah then it is to be brave, to outlast to the praise…

    February 23, 2011 at 5:06 AM

    • Ashley

      Hi Brian, thanks for taking time to read this piece. Perhaps I am a vain person, who’s always motivated by praises. Sometimes a “job well done” could get me going for a long time. :)

      February 23, 2011 at 11:13 AM

  9. Nyx

    loved these last two lines “Fortune favors the brave
    I shall have that last praise”. Fantastic

    February 23, 2011 at 5:31 AM

    • Ashley

      Thank you :)

      February 23, 2011 at 11:17 AM

  10. Silvertongue

    Wow.The ending is so powerful and it inspires you to grow and explore new horizons. I loved it.

    February 23, 2011 at 9:46 AM

    • Ashley

      Thanks. I think we are always striving to grow to be a better person in all aspects. :)

      February 23, 2011 at 11:18 AM

  11. I like the insights, the flow, and especially the sarcatic tone of your words.

    February 23, 2011 at 11:02 AM

    • Ashley

      Sarcastic! Hahaha. Finally someone could sense it. Thank you. :)

      February 23, 2011 at 11:29 AM

  12. Pingback: The Celebrate Poet of Spring in 2011 Awards Nomination Accouncement | Promising Poets' Parking Lot

  13. Sincerely written and honest poem. Nicely wrought. I like the last stanza.

    A very nice contribution to Potluck. Poem on …

    February 24, 2011 at 4:42 PM

    • Ashley

      Thank you Jamie! :)

      February 25, 2011 at 1:09 PM

  14. Greetings:

    Hope all is well.

    Noting that you have been part of poets rally in the year of 2011,
    what an achievement, thanks for your outstanding contribution to us
    along the way, keep up the excellence. Best!

    Come join our poetry rally today if you wish to mingle and get inspired!

    A poem of your choice or a free verse is accepted.

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    Looking forward to seeing you share.
    Respect and hugs.
    xoxox

    December 20, 2011 at 9:25 PM

    • Ashley

      Thanks for dropping by and inviting.
      I am so, so, so guilty for not contributing to the Poets Rally anymore. I shall return. Guess I’m late for the week 58 rally. I’ll take part on the next one. :)

      Glad that you remember me. :)

      December 21, 2011 at 3:20 PM

  15. frank and bold story,
    well put.

    How do you do?

    Happy 2013, keep writing, keep sharing.

    January 10, 2013 at 11:57 PM

    • Ashley

      Hi Aya. Thanks for dropping by. :)

      January 11, 2013 at 9:42 AM

Leave a Reply

