Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Book Lover

I am so sorry for not posting for the past few days. Was insanely busy with work and was a dead meat by the time I reached home. The urge to switch on the laptop was the last thing on my mind. Here I am, finally, stealing some time during lunch to scribble something.

I must admit that I am a “bookworm”. Not that I am nerdy, it’s just that I love books. Just give me any kind of book and it could cheer me up for a very long time. I could bury myself in a book all day long too. :)

Have you ever felt excited unwrapping a book? Your heart is racing menacingly when you flip on the first page? The smell of the new book simply fascinates you? Feeling like you want to carry the book to sleep?

Ok, I may sound exaggerating, but I feel exactly all of the above whenever I have a new book to read.

When I was in college, I could read at least 4 novels in one month. It even came to a point where I couldn’t find a more interesting or intriguing book to read in the library. The library in the college was huge, but it has more reference books than novels and story books. It was then I started patrolling bookstores and buying new books. The whole new world of reading started then.

I’m not sure if it’s the love for the books or the love for reading. Either one, I would not stop reading. There was a guy, asked me who is my favorite author. I have none. He asked again, what books do I read then. After I told him, he commented, “whoa, you seriously read all over the place”. I was pretty taken aback with what he said. I love reading and I don’t choose author or genre. If it’s a good book or if I think it’s a good book, I’ll read. Even if it was a mistake, I still enjoyed reading the book.

Yes, there are some authors who really stand out. There are also some who are just simply overrated by the media. Look at Dan Brown, who got famous because of The Da Vinci Code. I’ve read all his books before Da Vinci Code, they’re all equally great, but no one noticed him! Then there’s Rick Riordan of Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief. In my humble opinion, the way he writes is simple and straight forward. What makes him so famous then? It’s the story.

My point is, if you love reading, you will just pick up a book that interests you and read, doesn’t matter if the author is widely known or some nobody.

Conclusion, I love reading and I love books. :)

4 responses

  1. I love books and reading too! :) Oftentimes, I’m more interested in my newest novel than in studying.

    February 25, 2011 at 5:32 PM

    • Ashley

      Thanks for dropping by. :) Best of luck in your studies.

      February 28, 2011 at 10:43 AM

  2. sprinklesofchatter

    I feel the exact same way.

    Everytime I’m a little low or sad, I shop for books. I go into the local bookstore and that is my therapy. And no, you’re not exaggerating the feelings of a new book. I love the fragrance of a new book. I love the anticipation of the story. And yes, I DO take my books to bed with me. :D

    I’m so glad to see someone similar :)

    February 26, 2011 at 3:25 AM

    • Ashley

      It’s great to know someone out there who’s having the same feelings like we do, isn’t it? :)

      February 28, 2011 at 10:42 AM

Leave a Reply

