Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

As The World Watches……

Japan fills every headlines recently. It is doing its very best to handle the crisis that it is facing now. It is not going to be easy, but the people of Japan have made it looks easy.

Melissa shared photos on Boston.com with me yesterday. Tragic. Bandar Acheh was a tragedy, so is Japan, NOW. If you think you’ve seen it all, see and think again.

If you’re still pointing that little finger of yours at “karma”, please don’t forget you have 3 fingers pointing back at yourself. Name me a country who has done no harm to other innocent lives? Clear conscience? What about the foreigners who work and settle down in Japan?

Sad to say that, there are people who is idiot enough to say it is because Japan is over-developed. Trust me, if it wasn’t because of its so-called “over-developed”, the death toll would be so much higher and there wouldn’t be anything left in Tokyo.

The world is watching closely, how Japan is going to handle it, how the Japanese is responding to it…… The world sees discipline and kindness, that couldn’t exist anywhere else in the world during crisis.

My CEO is still in Japan. His wife and him were supposed to be in Tokyo last Friday evening. Half way through the Pacific Ocean, the flight diverted to Taipei because of the earthquake in Japan. He then managed to get into Narita, and then Tokyo. He said the aftershocks had never stopped for the first 2 days. When the nuke plant started exploding one by one, that got him a little worried. He’s been trying to get an earlier ticket home but couldn’t, all flights are full. He has to stay until Sunday. Sigh.

He wrote in his email to me, that everyone is going about their daily lives as usual, no sense of panic or anything. The news paints a different picture but things on the ground are still normal. I’m not sure if he’s trying to tell me that things are ok although the news said differently. I’m not sure. I just seriously and sincerely hope everything will be ok and he would come home safely. He is only my CEO, but the concern is deep and real. I can’t imagine how those who have families or friends back there in Japan will feel. Those are innocent lives……

A friend shared this blog on FB few days ago and those messages put me in tears. Heartwarming Japan Earthquake Twitter Stories.

I always get pushed at when boarding a bus, people bumped onto me and never bothered to say sorry, I got only cold stares and scoldings when I almost fell and bumped onto someone, people pressed the close button when they saw me running towards the elevator, people pushing each other just to get the best seat in the cinema, male colleagues did not offer help when they saw me carrying the heavy projector, young healthy guys fought with me for empty seats on the LRT, a man once pushed me away just for the extra little space in the crowded-hard-to-breathe LRT (and his girlfriend said nothing)…… I could go on and on and on…… (Do you know that in Japan, you actually get scolded by others if you do not give up your seat for someone who needed it more than you do?)

Most of us pray only for Japan to be ok, including myself. Now I am praying, for the world to learn a little bit more from Japan, and the world would then be such a peaceful and wonderful place to live in.

As we watch them, learn from them too.

*Photos courtesy of Boston.com

2 responses

  1. Shinyee

    Ashley… ya, Japan are in my prayers as well. Hope everything is going to be fine very soon.

    March 18, 2011 at 8:38 AM

    • Ashley

      Thanks Shinyee. If the world have more people like you, it would be so much better. :)

      March 18, 2011 at 10:31 AM

Leave a Reply

