Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Random #10 – No Free Lunch

I lurrrrrvvveeee Nando’s. Andrew prefers Kenny Roger’s though, but I find KR’s chicken is too dry and I have to always ask for extra gravy. Nando’s also has the best varieties of chili sauce, that hot and spicy taste goes very well with the grilled chicken.

Told Andrew last night that I’d love to have Nando’s for dinner, been craving for it since I came back from Melbourne. As usual, the restaurant was pretty crowded but we did not have to wait for an empty table. Happily had our dinner, asked for the bill, Andrew took out a piece of RM50 note and I gave some small change of RM0.25 for the bill of RM42.25.

We were chit-chatting while waiting for the change. About 5 minutes or so later, the waiter came back with the bill folder and said “here’s your balance, thank you”. Andrew opened the folder……

Andrew: OI! You see!
Me: See what…… Faster take and leave liao lah.
Andrew: No ler…… You see!!! THIS!!! *Pointing at the opened bill folder*
Me: *Took me 2 seconds to process what I was seeing and I blinked my eyes thrice* HUH!!! WHAT!!! Why did he return this? How now?
Andrew: Take and go lah! Come, let’s go! Faster!
Me: Serious?????? You sure????? Feel so guilty!
Andrew: Come, let’s move! *Grabbed my hand and left quickly*

So, what exactly was going on? The waiter returned the exact bill to us with the money untouched! RM50.25 still sitting nicely inside the bill folder!

We walked out of Nando’s, kept looking over our shoulders for fear the waiter would realise his mistake and chase after us. Nah…… No one chased after us! Hahahahahahahahahaha…… We had Nando’s dinner for free!

Andrew kept saying it wasn’t our fault, it wasn’t our intention to cheat them. We did pay and it was their mistake. Since the waiter said “here’s your balance”, meaning that is our money. Hahahaha…… I wonder how long it would take for them to realise they’ve made such a big bummer.

Perhaps “god” saw me being such a supportive fan of Nando’s, and sent me some appreciation. :P

Oh well, as the saying goes, there’s no free lunch in the world. I must agree. But there’s FREE DINNER!!! LOL! :D

P.S.: I did feel a bit guilty of not telling the waiter about the mistake. However, Andrew managed to con me to think that it wasn’t our fault and all that. Hmm…… Perhaps this is how life is supposed to be. Sometimes it sucks, and sometimes it throws you the best thing when you least expected it. :)

3 responses

  1. Hi Ashley,

    Bom Dia & warmest greetings from Nando’s Malaysia!

    We would like to thank you for your luuurrrvveeeee. Probably as you said it, that’s a form of appreciation for being a supportive fan of Nando’s.

    Just for our record (and also the fact that we’re burning with curiosity!!), which outlet did you visit? No, we assure you, they will not get into trouble…promise. ‘Cause bottomline is, you’ve enjoyed your time with us =]

    Hope to see you again soon, Ashley.

    Peri Regards,
    Marketing Department
    Nando’s Malaysia

    May 6, 2011 at 3:39 PM

    • Ashley

      Hey there! Thanks for dropping by. :)

      I’m not sure if I should disclose which outlet that I went. Firstly, I seriously do not want them to get into any trouble. Secondly, I’m worried that people who happens to read this post may start to have prejudice or what-so-ever against that particular outlet. Also, not good for its image. :)

      Let’s just leave it as a mystery. :)

      Once again, thank you for reading. I was pretty surprised to receive a comment from you. That shows that Nando’s does care about their customers’ feedback and this gives me more reason to love Nando’s. :>

      You’ll definitely see me again in Nando’s, soon!

      May 6, 2011 at 5:53 PM

  2. No problem, consider that a meal on us, for your love & support =]

    Have a great week ahead, babe.

    Peri Regards,
    Marketing Department
    Nando’s Malaysia

    May 9, 2011 at 7:40 PM

Leave a Reply

