Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Ideas. At Work. #4

Living room or some may refer to it as living hall, is obviously the largest space in a house. It is also where you can actually get more creative in planning, renovating and decorating.

To me, living room is the first thing that I (or a guest) would see when I step into the house, it should give at least myself a feeling of “welcoming home”.

I am struggling with the color theme/choice for the living room. I’d love red/white combination, but knowing that white furniture would be rather difficult to maintain and you’ve gotta be careful all the time not to dirty it, is one big reason that got me thinking twice. I love the earth tone too, it would create so much of warmth and comfort that would make you feel so much at home! Both Andrew and I adore rattan chair too. However, when it collects dust, it’s gonna be a hell lot of work to clean it. Sigh. Home planning is not easy wey. There’s so much to think with so little of dime.

This is pretty simple and homey,  but no creativity lor. :|

This one feels so comfortable!

My favorite of them all. :)

It is very likely am gonna get that sofa. The seat is deep/wide enough for long-legged persons like Andrew and I. LOL!

Ooohhh… Black & white. Too “heavy” to me.

Gosh! Books! Shelves! I’m a bookworm, and this looks heaven to me! Considering this for the study corner. :D

It’s amazing to see how sometimes different contrast of colors could look so nice together. The wooden coffee table, earth color rug and the orange sofa are woven together so well and the maroon-grey armchair sort of add a splash of live to it.

I have seen how a coffee table take up the space of a living room, adults bump on the edges and children bumping onto the corners, having not enough of sitting space when more guests pour in, difficulty of moving it during cleaning time or sometimes, it serves no purpose at all. I’ve told Andrew from the very beginning, too much drama a coffee table could give, no coffee table in the house in the future. One side table, yes, but not a coffee table. When I saw a footstool with storage at Ikea, I was jumping with joy. Not that I was buying it at that point of time. Hahaha. At least I know there is something that I could use as a footstool, storage and coffee table! Three in one.

See that rattan chest in the centre? How nice if I could have that too. I’m such a sucker when it comes to rattan. LOL.

Guess what, Andrew fell in love with this ↓ when he first saw it! Love at first sight! He said he is so getting it for the house. I wonder where is he going to put it???????? He claims that not many would have or dare to have this in the living room, we would be so uniquely different from others. Bla… bla… bla……

I seriously don’t think this would go well with the rattan. There goes my at-least-one-rattan-in-the-house plan. :(

Other than the furnitures, there’s the lightings and paintings to think about. Argh! Now you know where my creativity goes to and the reason of lack of updating here on the blog. -__-

*Photos courtesy of Ikea and Martha Stewart.

5 responses

  1. Vanessa Chia

    Hmmm…My bro’s living room colour is Apple white…I think is from Nippon…Basically is white la…Good thing is tat when got dirt then can lap off..Would be easy if next time when got kids around…Easy to maintain…I feel less stuff is better..Keep it simple…If planning for a famili soon then with baby’s stuff really can take off lot of space la…Or else gotta take lot of time to clean n manage the house…I’m a lazy person plus with a baby on board….All I ever wan is to piggy kao kao…Lol….[Just my opinion]…:@

    June 1, 2011 at 11:41 AM

    • Ashley

      yep, ur right Vanessa. Even if no children, the wall could get dirty sometimes and it would b so much easier to clean with that kind of paint. I too don’t like a lot of stuff, simple and creative. Hahahahaha…..

      June 1, 2011 at 2:24 PM

  2. Vanessa Chia

    Hehe..Simple then is easy to maintain..Or else we r the one who gonna pick up the mess…Kakakaka…I got a fren who got simple wallpaper or sticker for her room…Look nice after she DIY…This the FB link tat she got it from http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000726370034&sk=wall — > 恋尚家 …Maybe U can go n have a look n see whether is affordable or not the pricing coz I know KL also got lot of this kind of thing…Maybe U can get it as deco for ur house….:@

    June 2, 2011 at 10:31 AM

    • Ashley

      Wah…. thank u so much for the info!! Hehehe….. ya, i like wallpapers and stickers too leh…. kakakaka

      June 3, 2011 at 12:14 PM

  3. Vanessa Chia

    Hehe
    Welcome
    Just to share wat I know la
    :@

    June 3, 2011 at 7:03 PM

Leave a Reply

