Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

The Wool Cap 2004

Last night, as usual, switched on the TV when I got home. It was 10pm and just the right time the movie started. Didn’t see the title but I finished the whole movie.

The Wool Cap, about a middle-aged man, Gigot who lost his vocal cords and his sister in a car accident, lived a solitude live for half of his lifetime. His lonely live was soon disrupted by the arrival of Louella, a 12-year-old girl who got abandoned by her drug addict mother. Gigot and Louella soon developed a bond that makes Gigot wanted to adopt Louella as his daughter and get back in touch with his family that he abandoned long ago.

It is a very touching story and movie, with William H. Macy‘s impeccable performance. He is no doubt a very experienced and excellent actor, whenever he’s in a movie, be sure to get swept off the ground by his charming acts. He could express the emotions of the character so well that not a word that needs to be spoken to feel it, and it goes straight to your heart. That’s the magic of William H. Macy. Not forgetting the movie I watched with Andrew back in 2007, Wild Hogs, by Tim Allen, John Travolta, Martin Lawrence and Macy. It is such a hilarious movie! Macy was so funny in Wild Hogs, even up to this day I couldn’t stop laughing whenever Wild Hogs came into my mind, like right now. Whenever I see people with the same dressings on those Harley Davidson bikes, I would point at them and turn to Andrew, “Wild Hogs eh”. Both of us would start giggling. Hahahahaha.

You know, when people said don’t judge a book by its cover, the same goes to don’t judge a movie by its cast. I don’t judge a book by its cover as my reading range is pretty wide. However when it comes to movie, I am pretty picky about the cast in a movie. Hahaha. If I don’t see any big names or familiar faces in a movie, I often choose not to watch it. I could be wrong and I was wrong quite a couple of times. :)

The Wool Cap is a very meaningful and heart-warming movie, even Andrew was watching it and not switching channels in between commercial time. He too was fascinated by the story.

At the end of the movie, when Gigot showed Louella that, “I am your father”, I couldn’t help but tears just streamed down my face! Kanasai…… So touching leh…… *Sobs sobs*

Sorry, this is the only “decent” video of The Wool Cap that I could find on YouTube. What a pity, such a great movie but no one cares to upload a trailer of it. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

