Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

X-Men: First Class

X-Men, a name that is so familiar since childhood. I watched X-Men cartoons on TV with my younger sister and cousin, every weekend. Three of us were always jumping with joy whenever we got new X-Men toy. :D I still remember, Wolverine was my cousin’s favorite, my younger sister’s favorite was Rogue while my favorite was Storm and Iceman. Back then, we didn’t really understand the story, all we know was X-Men are a bunch of people with cool superpowers. Hahaha. My cousin would always bare his teeth with his hands crossed in front of the chest and chased us. Hahaha. What a childhood. Oops, that kind of give my age away and which era I’m from. Hahaha. I’m not that old, okay. :P

So, yeah, X-Men is my childhood companion too and I love it, even to this day. Andrew and I have never missed the film series. :)

However, when I saw X-Men: First Class, sort of like a prelude to the X-Men film series, I wasn’t keen to watch it. Again, I don’t see big stars in the movie. Hahaha. I was wrong, so very wrong, again.

I read a review last week from WordPress Freshly Pressed page, the blogger of course did not reveal the story of the movie, but the review was good enough to “entice” me to watch the movie! Then, Andrew’s aunt told us she brought her kids to the movie and it was good. Also, Andrew has heard some good comments from his friends and colleagues. So, we decided to watch it and see it for ourselves. :) Again, June is the last month for Citibank’s Weekends buy 1 free 1 promotion that started since January, we must grab the opportunity while it lasts. I’m so gonna miss this promotion after this, been utilising it since February and it is really a good bargain.

Good lord! I am now glad that we watched it on the big screen! No regrets! Two thumbs up!

First, we now understand where the anger of Magneto came from. Then, the painful parting of 2 good friends just because of each having a different view on one common thing. The bond and friendship between Magneto and Xavier was so strong that we could even feel their pain.

Ahhh…… Now I know how the Beast got his present physical look. Oh, and the metal helmet that Magneto is wearing all the time actually came from his “creator”. So, Mystique and Xavier actually know each other for a long time. Ohhh…… That is how Mystique went on to be on Magneto’s side.

I was cracking my head trying to recall who’s that guy that played Charles Xavier and he looks so familiar. I Googled for it, whoa, James McAvoy, the leading actor in Wanted alongside Angelina Jolie! Also, he’s the Faun in The Chronicles of Narnia.

When I saw Kevin Bacon, my jaw dropped. Hahahaha. Didn’t know he was in the movie too!!! Geez, how could I have missed that big name from the movie?! And, Hugh Jackman made a cameo appearance. LOL! Oh, I almost forgot, Erik Lehnsherr (Magneto) looks charming at times. :) He played very well in the movie.

X-Men: First Class, a great movie. Though the lengthy conversations at the beginning of the movie, every X-Men film has this same thing, are pretty boring, you just can’t deny those cool actions and visual effects are indeed the plus points. Andrew and I just love those actions and magnificent effects. I was whoa-ing a couple of  times. Furthermore, it has a good story that is very close to the comic version. Definitely worth the money.

If you’re an X-Men fan and having doubts like me on this movie, don’t. It’s definitely worth to watch on the big screen. Go now before it’s too late. Well, don’t bother if you’re not an X-Men fan, you wouldn’t understand the logic of it. However, if you want to start, this is a good one to begin with so that you get a good picture of what X-Men is all about. Then go on and watch the rest of the film series.

2 responses

  1. It uses the themes of the previous movies to build an intelligent, fast-paced, and highly entertaining prequel. The performances from the whole cast, especially McAvoy and Fassbender add a lot to these great characters as well. Good review Andy, check out mine when you can!

    June 13, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    • Ashley

      Thank you Dan for your comment. By the way, I’m Ashley, not Andy. :D

      June 13, 2011 at 12:57 PM

Leave a Reply

