Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Déjà Vu

Have you ever had the déjà vu? Or feeling like you’ve seen or experienced this situation? Or you’ve dreamed about it before and it became reality months later?

According to Wikipedia, déjà vu is because our brain is playing tricks on us.

The most likely explanation of déjà vu is not that it is an act of “precognition” or “prophecy“, but rather that it is an anomaly of memory, giving the false impression that an experience is “being recalled”.[4][5] This explanation is substantiated by the fact that the sense of “recollection” at the time is strong in most cases, but that the circumstances of the “previous” experience (when, where, and how the earlier experience occurred) are quite uncertain or known to be impossible. Likewise, as time passes, subjects can exhibit a strong recollection of having the “unsettling” experience of déjà vu itself, but little or no recollection of the specifics of the event(s) or circumstance(s) they were “remembering” when they had the déjà vu experience. In particular, this may result from an overlap between the neurological systems responsible for short-term memory and those responsible for long-term memory (events which are perceived as being in the past). The events would be stored into memory before the conscious part of the brain even receives the information and processes it.[citation needed]

However, I don’t quite buy it. Yeah, it’s true to a certain extent, but not in all the déjà vu that occurred. My déjà vu is not something that I feel I have experienced it, it is something I’ve dreamed about and it becomes real at a later date.

I, am a dreamy person. Whenever I sleep, I dream, without fail. Even if it’s just a short nap, I dream. I dream every night. If I had a dreamless night, I would wake up feeling extremely tired like I’ve never slept the night before. Weird right? As people usually told me dreamless night meaning you have a well rested night and your brain never stops working if you dream and you will feel tired when you wake up from a dream. It’s the opposite for me. So, I don’t like dreamless nights.

I have déjà vu. Many times. The frequency increases as I grow with my age. During school times, I often experienced it when I went out with friends. The exact same conversations and the persons, appeared in my dream before and was happening in real. I wasn’t too sure why and I often just shrugged it off.

Déjà vu happens more frequent when I started my working life. As it happens so frequent, I got so familiar with it and sometimes I could change the outcome of it. Few months ago, was having lunch with my colleague and we were talking about some unhappy issues at work, suddenly the feeling of déjà vu hit me. Instead of telling her the exact same thing that I told her in my dream, I changed it and told her something else. The conversation took another turn and it was a happy ending instead of the sour feeling I had in my dream.

However, there are times I just couldn’t change it or avoid the fate I guess. Last year December, my boss told me a decision and I was in shock for 3 seconds then only I responded to what he said. What he told me, I dreamed of it way before that. I still remember when I woke up from that particular dream (yes, I dream of work related stuff too), I told myself it couldn’t possibly happen in real life, what a joke. But there I was, sitting in my boss’ office for real, getting that shocking piece of news. How could it possibly happen, NOW? Gosh…… I was shocked, sitting at my desk thinking about it for a very long time.

When I go out with friends, I too have déjà vu. Instead of saying/doing as what I have dreamed earlier, I often chose to say/do it differently. I don’t usually tell them I’ve dreamed about it. Sometimes watching a movie and it all seemed so familiar…… There were times talking to someone and I stopped abruptly when I realised the conversation took place in my dream before……

The déjà vu happens every now and then, still, I have not learned to accept it calmly when it comes. I still can’t get over the eeriness of it when it happens.

No, I can’t foresee the future. :) It comes as a dream, I wouldn’t know if it would happen for sure. More often than not, the dream would be so real and yet seem too unrealistic to happen in real life. Which is why when it does come true, I am usually shocked. I’ve thought of keeping a journal by the bed so that I could write my dreams down when I wake up. However, I’ve not got a chance to do that.

I like the dreams that come at night, but I do not like nightmares. I’ve had nightmares that came true too, luckily only a few, and that is enough to devastate me. I certainly and especially do not like those nightmares that make me woke up in the middle of the night crying.

Guess what, I’ve dreamed of aliens recently. :) Bizarre and can’t possibly happen, right? We shall see.

Do you know that there’s a movie starring Denzel Washington, is called “Déjà Vu”? It is a nice movie too. Well, most of the movies are nice if Denzel Washington is in it. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

