Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Hokkaido Ichiba – The Gardens Mall

Hokkaido Ichiba Japanese Restaurant is located in The Gardens Mall, Mid Valley City, on the 3rd floor, centre court. Went there before with a few friends and found that their food is pretty good, very fresh.

Was there 2 weeks ago with another 2 friends, I had a bowl of Shoyu Ramen with beef slices, it was so heaven! The beef slices were so tender and juicy! Their beef is definitely a must-try! We also ordered a Japanese pancake (seafood), it was yummy too!!! Too bad that time my handphone battery died, so no photos to show.

Last night after work, I was craving for Japanese food again. I just went Rakuzen last week, and now I miss Japanese food again. Hahaha. I’m a Japanese food lover, if it wasn’t because of the price, I could have it everyday. :) They have so many varieties, bento, ramen, sushi, sahimi, teppanyaki…… How can you possibly get bored?

Andrew was sweet enough to drive all the way to Mid Valley after I complained that there’s no nice Japanese food in KLCC. So, there we were, Hokkaido Ichiba. No queue! So happy we could get a seat without queue-ing.

image

Teppanyaki Beef Set, RM36. Andrew said it is not salty enough, but to me, it’s good and you can really taste the freshness of the beef! The beef cutlet is perfectly cooked on the outside but a lil’ bit raw and tender on the inside. Oooohh…… So nice! The set comes with a bowl of garlic rice, goes really well with the beef!

image

Tofu Tempura, RM12. I love tofu, not those round Japanese tofu that you could get in supermarket, but this! Homemade square tofu. This is exactly the same with the one in Rakuzen. It is so delicious!!!

image

Unatama Don, RM18. I love unagi too, but I know I couldn’t finish the unagi set, so I had this ala-carte unatama don. Sad to say, the unagi is not as nice as the one in Rakuzen. However, this is big enough to fill my stomach and I couldn’t even finish the rice. It comes with a miso soup, what a pleasant surprise. :)

Total bill came up to RM76.55. Expensive? Hmm…… I think that is the standard price for a Japanese meal. Most importantly, I am satisfied. :D

Oh, not forgetting that the green tea is actually complimentary. How thoughtful, unlike some Japanese restaurant that will charge you RM1 for the green tea. Ish……

4 responses

  1. JoinMe

    Hi Ashley,
    Kindly be informed that this post has been reprinted on JoinMe.com.my, thanks. ^^
    P/S: We have put your name and link credit back to this article.

    August 24, 2011 at 3:29 PM

    • Ashley

      Thank you for informing. :) My pleasure to appear in your website. :)

      August 24, 2011 at 3:38 PM

  2. Hi there! Thank you for patronizing Rakuzen & Hokkaido Ichiba! :) We have a Rakuzen near KLCC which is in GTower. Feel free to drop by for a visit. Hope to serve you again soon!

    April 29, 2013 at 4:39 PM

    • Ashley

      Hi, thanks for dropping by. I know there’s a Rakuzen in G-Tower, been there a few times. However, the last 2 times I went with my colleagues, we didn’t enjoy the food. The quality of the food has dropped so much and the service was bad too. I have not returned ever since. I would rather travel to Mid Valley for the quality.

      April 30, 2013 at 10:37 AM

Leave a Reply

