Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Sassorosso Italian Restaurant, Jalan Yap Kwan Seng

Sassorosso Italian Restaurant, located at Lorong Yap Kwan Seng, off Jalan Yap Kwan Seng. If you do not know where Jalan Yap Kwan Seng is, it is where Menara AmBank located, or where the Australian High Comm is. Sassorosso is just 10 minutes walk away from where I work. Googled about it, except its website there wasn’t any recent review from any blogger. So guess I’d just blog about it and contribute something to the blogosphere. (Kononnya buat jasa baik! LOL!)

About a month ago, I was searching for a good dining place for a farewell of 2 colleagues. Suggestions that I received are either too far away from our office or too expensive or too fine-dining for a bunch of noisy people like us. End up we went ahead with Sassorosso. Since there were not more than 20 of us, the chef couldn’t do a buffet, we went by a la carte off the menu.

We wanted to get the most out of it, so a few of us actually ordered different things from the menu and shared! LOL! The chef and the waiter who took our orders were looking at us weirdly. In case if you do not know, no one shares food in Italian restaurant lah! Italian cuisine wei, fine-dining wei…… We were sharing food like what we would usually do in Chinese restaurant or hawker center! Wuahahahhahahahahaha…… Please pardon a bunch of “mountain turtles” like us. The portion is just too big for one person to swallow all and it is not “economical” to just eat only one type of dish from the menu. :P We were a bit “kia-su” also, ordered too much and end up we couldn’t finish the whole beef pizza. Hehehe.

image

image

We asked for a private room for 14 of us.

image

Sassorosso Mixed Antipasti. Sorry that I do not know enjoy this. The calamari on the side were so chewy I felt like chewing rubber band. The raw meat was pretty salty. The cooked prawn was cold and the vegetables taste weird.

image

Pan-Fried Sea Bass. The fish is fresh until I could taste the fishy smell of it and personally I don’t like it, but the rest of them seemed to like it a lot.

image

Wild Mushroom Risotto. Seriously, from the menu, this is the only thing that got me excited as I like risotto, but this! The sauce taste funny, there is some sort of smell that I can’t describe. Luckily all my colleagues agreed with me, definitely I’m not the only one that’s fussy. However, the chef is pretty generous with ingredients, there’s a lot of mushrooms.

image

Sassorosso Pizza. Good! Yummy! Nice! :D

image

Aglio Olio with Jumbo Tiger Prawns. Love it. The prawns were so fresh and tender! Mmm… Yummy!

image

Sauteed Broccoli. Very fresh.

image

Bresaola, tomato sauce with mozzarella cheese and air-dried beef. I didn’t eat this as I was too full to even swallow another mouth food! They told me the beef was superbly nice!

image

Grilled NZ Beef Tenderlion. My colleague said it was too chewy.

image

Mixed Seafood Platter (Grilled). I enjoyed this the most, especially the grilled vegetables.

There were a few other dishes not in the photos. The wild mushroom soup is pretty good, the taste of the wild mushroom was very strong, not something that you would find in other restaurant. The lentil soup was a bit yucky though. The seafood soup turned out to be the best. We ordered half a dozen of escargots de bourgogne, that was yummy too!!! I love escargot, as long as it is cooked. :D

The total bill of the night came up to RM1481.32, no alcoholic drinks. All in all, the food wasn’t bad. It’s just that they’re not to my liking and I further confirmed that I do not really like Italian food. The way they cook the food is just too bizarre for me to accept. :P

Then, last week we went there again for lunch. All of us went by the set lunch and this time I must say, it is two-thumbs-up good! The set lunch is RM48++.

image

image

Starter, salad with fresh tomatoes and parmesan flakes. Warning, the parmesan cheese smells very strong and if you’re not into cheese stuff or you only take moderate cheese, please do not be brave and try this. I could smell the parmesan even by 3 tables away!!!

image

Cuttlefish and potato salad. Gosh, the cuttlefish looks so much like dissected lizard!!! It tastes nice though!

image

Broccoli soup, very fresh and refreshing. I love their soup, I’d bet they use fresh ingredients.

image

Main course, pizza with deer and beef salami. I didn’t get to try this as there’s cheese on it. :( They told me it’s good.

image

Rigatoni in creamy gorgonzola sauce and walnuts. I have no idea what it is. My colleague told me it is some pasta in cream sauce. Sorry, it doesn’t look appetizing to me at all.

image

Chicken scaloppini. This is nice, the chicken breast isn’t too dry and hard.

image

Pan-fried salmon fillet. Delicious! The outer part is so crispy and the meat is soft! Too bad I couldn’t dip with the sauce, not sure how the sauce taste like.

image

Dessert, Tiramisu!!! Geez, why am I allergic to dairy product!!! Had a pinch of it and it taste so heaven!!! The best tiramisu I’ve ever had!

image

Indulge yourself in a cup of black tea or coffee. :)

image

Is RM48++ worth it? Absolutely!

10 responses

  1. Wow…the prices are quite expensive wor…
    Anyway..I’m interested on the pizza & risotto =p

    July 6, 2011 at 5:04 PM

    • Ashley

      yep, quite expensive. Go once in a while ok lah. You should go try ler mel mel, try fine dining. :D

      July 7, 2011 at 11:06 AM

  2. Alex cannot go fine dining de le… He must go those fine dining with ‘big serving’. Otherwise he will complain not full. =p

    July 7, 2011 at 11:11 AM

    • Ashley

      Eh, this one portion quite big de lah… the soup oso quite big bowl ler… don’t underestimate those “small” bowl lor. The pizza is like large size of Pizza Hut. the lamb/beef oso quite filling leh.

      July 7, 2011 at 11:13 AM

  3. I agree with you that dining in Sassorosso is not economical. But with the variesties of good selection on antipasti (mussels, smoke salmon, prawns etc) I really think it is still worth to dine there. You go out order one steak also cost you RM38 liao right?

    I think I dine there for lunch with my best friend cum colleague about 3-4 times when I work in Megan Avenue and enjoy going there very much. See your post makes me want to go there again.

    Btw, do they have set lunch during weekends? Any idea how much huh?

    July 8, 2011 at 11:30 AM

    • Ashley

      Cheryl, you work in Megan Avenue? or used to?
      You should try Sassorosso again lah, it’s quite good lor. I’d go back for the set lunch too, not dinner though. :D
      Not sure if they have set lunch during weekends leh.
      Seeing the quality of food and ingredients they use, I must say it worth the money ler. Undeniably they use very very fresh ingredients.
      Oh ya, one of my colleagues waited very long for the tiramisu, the chef apologised for that and gave her a bigger piece of tiramisu!!!! *Jealous*

      July 8, 2011 at 4:23 PM

  4. I used to work in Megan Avenue leh.. before I got married. I also go to Euro Deli for lunch, then the Japanese Ramen Rest forgot what name they move dy, then I go Passion Road for Lunch, walk to Tai Thong at Selangor Dredging for lunch, go to Sassorosso. I think Yap Kwan Seng now got Full House right? Fishermen something right? a few more restaurant after I left the place. Sometimes I got emails from Sassorosso when they have singer and dunno meh 4-5 course fine dining dinner, but the price damn high RM350-500 per pax like dat geh. Can you check out for me if they have set lunch for weekend if u go there again? I forgot dy. I think their set lunch is absolutely worth it like you said!

    July 11, 2011 at 11:20 AM

    • Ashley

      I see. Eh, Euro Deli no more ler :( The whole building got demolished. :(( Love their pork knuckles lah. Passion Road lunch is not so good ler nowadays. Ya ya, Full House is here, but I only went twice. Hahahahaha…… There’s Tony Roma’s now and Old Town. Popeye was here for a short while, now jap lap jor. Hahahahaha…..

      Ok, will ask for u about the weekend set lunch. :D

      July 11, 2011 at 11:33 AM

  5. Wah Popeye was there? How bout the Malay rest accross the road at next to Old town? Last time my colleague and I really gila, one week at least 2 times we will go Old town and have breakfast. Purposely wake up early and go there bf together and chit chat like we cannot finish wat we talk at office 8hours, go home call each other, weekend also chat. Really gila. Anyway we became best of friends until to-date 9 years dy! OMG

    July 11, 2011 at 6:21 PM

    • Ashley

      Popeye was here for few months, it was good for me lah. ‘Cause if traffic jam hubby and I could just stop there to have dinner first but now no more ler :((
      That rasa sayang oredy jap lor…. replaced with Popeye lor…… Eh, I oso go Old Town breakfast sometimes but not so frequent cos I malas to wake up at 6am!
      It’s good that colleague turned out to be best of friends! It’s very rare u know, must cherish.

      July 13, 2011 at 2:43 PM

Leave a Reply

