Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Facebook

I have 244 friends in Facebook.

I am pretty active on Facebook. Status updates, what I’ve been doing, am doing, did, thinking, thoughts…… However, I’ve been very careful in adding friends. I do not like the feeling of some unfamiliar friends knowing exactly what I’m doing and what’s going on with my life. I share my life with friends that I care about and that they care about me, not the whole world.

Recently, my colleagues start to add me, one by one. I used to add them without thinking but I’ve stopped adding colleagues since last year. I have this belief that, they’re my colleagues and I would like to keep a distance from them. I don’t feel comfortable sharing every bits of my personal life with colleagues. Ya ya, go on and tell me colleagues can be my friends too. I know, I do have a few colleagues that I could proudly call friends. However, not all of them.

Do you believe that we all act differently at work and with friends? Split personality? Maybe but not that serious. A colleague recently sent me a personality test. Discussed briefly my choice with my other colleagues, all of them disagreed with my choice and insist that I am not even close to anything as described in that personality. However, when I told my friend, she thinks that is just so true about me.

So, you see, that is the other side of me when I am with my friends. I get to be my true self when I am with my friends. It’s not that I am not myself when I am with my colleagues, but I just have to maintain that little bit of professionalism when I am with them. I try to keep my personal life separate from my colleagues. I do not like the idea of them knowing too much of me and getting too close.

I am trying to get Facebook out of my life, well perhaps not entirely, but I’m not going to be actively updating my life on Facebook any more. It is very unsecured now. The world is very small, your friends seem to know another group of friends you have. When you may well think that the other person may not find out what you wrote on Facebook, someone he/she knows could be in your circle and then it is no longer a “secret”.

Facebook isn’t a safe platform any more to rant and release tension. Instead, it creates tension right now.

So people, be careful of what you “broadcast” on your Facebook. Someone is probably watching you. :)

2 responses

  1. Haha! I am watching u!! I stalk people in facebook. .. so there’s a reason you should feel insecure in FB because like it or not, people you dont know may be watching you too, people tagging u, wrote a comment on your page, its all broadcast to you, your friend and your friend’s friend. The circle is kinda huge.

    My hubby told me, Google is coming up with a social networking in ‘Beta’ but the server already full. When they launch it officially maybe you can try the new more private social networking.

    I agree in FB, no privacy, that’s y I seldom post anything there except photos. Photos also I malas upload dy.

    August 2, 2011 at 12:47 PM

    • Ashley

      Can I call you stalker????? wuahahhahahahahha……… Not just you lah, im sure a lot of ppl do that in FB lor, secretly checking on others.

      Google one is called Google+. Full oredy meh? I go see if i can invite you :D

      Ya, FB no more privacy………… even photos oso i hardly upload now…. don’t want let those unrelated ppl know what’s going on with my life any more.

      August 2, 2011 at 2:28 PM

Leave a Reply

