Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Flotsam Phrases So It Seems

I was browsing through The Daily Post and I found something!

Flotsam Phrases – just take up space without adding to the meaning of a sentence. Thus there is usually no reason, where it is clear whose opinion is being expressed, to write In my opinion or It seems to me that. Other examples are in terms of, on a . . . basis, my sense is that, in the first instance, the fact of the matter, and the fact that. (Admittedly, some of these phrases may be useful in speech.) We have enough written words without these mere space-fillers.

I am so, so, so guilty of using Flotsam Phrases most of the time!

I like to use “It seems that” and “It looks to me that”. They’re actually useless in a sentence. I am already expressing my opinion, it doesn’t matter how it “looks” or “seems”!

I guess everyone of us is guilty of using them at some point. Why? Just to fill up the space! YES! Admit it my dear, you sometimes do want to make your post looks longer and full with words and to show that you CAN write too. Hahaha. I know, I know.

I shall cut down on the usage of Flotsam Phrases. My blog will then be a better place to read and save some space for better things. :)

2 responses

  1. yalo…at times to make the sentence longer, tend to add more words..end up the sentence became putar belit… =_=

    December 22, 2011 at 2:11 PM

    • Ashley

      Exactly!!! Not just Flotsam phrases, some even add in unnecessary words/phrases thinking to beautify the sentence, but only make the whole story even more difficult to read. Sial betul!

      December 22, 2011 at 2:19 PM

Leave a Reply

