Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

My Rant On Kubiq, LAST!

Finally, the handles of the wardrobe were fixed last night. Carpenter came at 10pm. Room is dusty again even after Andrew cleaned and vacuum-ed. Sigh.

Before carpenter started, he asked Andrew for the desired height of the handles and Andrew asked me what is my preferred height. I told Andrew, “huh? Why bother? Anything lah, it is already ugly enough, the height of the handles wouldn’t make it better.” That, shows how disappointed I am. When the carpenter was fixing the handles, I didn’t even bother to go and check. I only went in the room to see if it was messy and to check on Andrew, not the carpenter.

They’re not the handles that I wanted, so I can’t be bothered if they’re of perfect height on the doors. As long as they’re fixed, so that I can open the doors. The whole thing pissed me off so much that I start to hate my wardrobe. 4 f***ing months to get everything done! Handles alone took 2 month and a half!

image

image

The more I look at it, the more I feel the color is so old-fashioned. The corner ceiling-high wardrobe just looks, odd in the bedroom. Why on earth did I choose that??????? Because of a friend and convenience? F*** knows! ARGH!

I learned a lot during this whole renovation process. Not to trust a friend for renovation works, not to take things for granted, not to go with common sense…… I told Andrew, in the future, do NOT ever tell me how white color is going to get dirty, I WANT WHITE, PERIOD!

Another advice from me, if you like a certain color theme for your house, do not ever let other people to convince you otherwise! I wanted white kitchen cabinet and white wardrobe, but everyone (including Andrew) told me white is not going to last long as it gets dirty easily and difficult to maintain. I thought they were wiser than me, so I went with other colors than white. Now? I feel sorry for myself for listening to others but not myself!

5 years down the road, dirty or not, it’s up to me to either change it or live with it. Hell with it! Who bothers if white is difficult to maintain if you’re the one’s living with it and seeing it everyday?????? And best of all, you’re the one paying for it!

To be honest, dark color isn’t any better neither. Have a long scratch on the black counter-top in the kitchen. Yep, first week after the kitchen is done. Mind you, a scratch appears to be very obvious on dark surfaces. Now I use the ugliest table cloth that I could find in the house to cover that scratch. So you tell me, how nice is it going to be with dark colors?

Well, I’m not going to take good care of both my kitchen and wardrobe. I’m just going to USE and ABUSE them like some cheapskate stuff. Just see how long they can last under the wrath of ASHLEY! Wuahahahahahahahahaha! *Evil laughs*

So, so, so disappointed with a friend. The way that friend handled this issue, is totally disappointing. Friend thinks that he/she has done everything to help, sort of like telling me I’m asking too much and I shouldn’t be bothering him/her anymore. Sigh…… Someone will never understand. Colleague asked me, “still friend?” I don’t know…… I seriously don’t know. He/she doesn’t seem to want to stay friends anymore, or else will at least call me to ask how’s thing going. No, no calls. Every time I would be the one who texted first.

Wasted my money, lost a friend, and lost my trust.

6 responses

  1. Hugs Ashley….Tried to put myself in your shoes..understand all d hassle you went thru. A really pricey lesson to learn. In this similar case, I may consider myself alil luckier than you to just fall 1/2 but not all…guess you know which part of it…
    (jia you! hope you able to replace every bits of it soon…like VERY SOON)

    March 21, 2012 at 11:56 AM

    • Ashley

      Sigh… What to do. Money not well spent due to didn’t do enough of research. The biggest mistake is, trust! Trusted someone too much until I got blinded. Precious lesson also.
      Yalor, you really lucky no major problems, but those small small problems also wasted some of your time and money liao leh.

      Kakaka… Hope I can replace them really very soon! Wuahahahaha :P

      March 21, 2012 at 1:42 PM

  2. I can see your frustration!! Its true that white colour will change to yellow. My wardrobe after 3years + now same colour as my door, yellowish. My contractor told me this material wont change colour tim.. he should go eat shit!!! But I dont hate my wardrobe its not an eyesore at all, I’ve seen the glory of beautiful white wardrobe, its worth it still coz like you said something you choose and something you really wanted!!

    Start saving money and change your wardrobe lor. Eh.. surprisingly Ikea furniture dont change colour, even its white!!

    March 21, 2012 at 9:09 PM

    • Ashley

      Glad the whole “disaster” is over.
      Exactly, Cheryl. You choose something, and of course wear and tear over time, but still you like it and you wanted it.

      Ya, I’m saving money again for the wardrobe. Kitchen I don’t really bother, it’s just a place for me to cook then. Next time move to a bigger house only have a better kitchen. Hahahaha….

      Eh, thanks for your comforting words. :D

      March 22, 2012 at 10:02 AM

      • I am choosing a white surface for my kitchen…. Hope that I won’t be making a wrong decision :)

        Ashley, hope everything is over at your side…

        March 23, 2012 at 9:47 AM

      • Ashley

        Shinyee, if you love white, you won’t regret your choice. Yes, you have to be careful of colored ingredients may spill on the surface, but at least you enjoy the kitchen that you choose and love. :)

        Everything is over now with Kubiq. I can now move on to add more furnitures. :) And unpack!

        March 26, 2012 at 12:29 PM

Leave a Reply

