Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Public Display of Affection

According to Wikipedia (the mighty internet encyclopaedia), public displays of affection (PDA) are:

acts of physical intimacy in the view of others. What are acceptable displays of affection vary between cultures as well as to time and context. Which acts are acceptable have also varied over time. Displays of affection in a public place, such as the street, are more likely to be objected to, than similar practices in a private place with only people from a similar cultural background present. Mild forms of physical intimacy, such as holding handshugging or kissing, are regarded as unobjectionable forms of public displays of affection in many cultures and contexts, but objectionable in others. Maintaining eye contact can be regarded socially and psychologically as analogous to touching in some cultures.

I bet all of us do that with our partners/spouse. The question is, to what extent?

When I am with Andrew, I become VERY affectionate. I want to have the body contact with him constantly. I’ve told him to hold my hand all the times even when I am angry. Sometimes I would even kiss him on the cheek in public, he would give me a kiss on the forehead and sometimes we hug. Very often before I get out of the car for work (he sends me to work everyday), we would give each other a peck on the cheek. We have done all this in public. If you asked me if I would feel awkward or uncomfortable, I would tell you NO.

I just love remaining in contact with Andrew. I don’t like the feeling of us walking together with our hands down on the side, not holding each other. I just can’t take it. There were times I would just tell him “can you please at least put your hand around my waist or shoulder”. :)

There was once, my ex-colleague saw me giving Andrew a kiss on the cheek before I got out of the car, he made fun of me and said I was so brave and horny and couldn’t wait till we get home! What is wrong with giving your boyfriend (we were not married back then) a kiss before you go to work??? For goodness sake! In what way it showed that I was horny???!!!

So, PDA is not for everyone, you see. Some people may even think that holding hands in public is a sin!

What is the most sinful PDA you have done? Hahahaha……

2 responses

  1. Muahaha…I did that too! While walking in malls or what..at times I’ll ask Alex..how come din hold my hands wan?? YES! Its a kiss or to be precise, just a peck on cheek, I’ll do that before I got down from car either. After all its not those french kiss type pun ma… =p

    April 17, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    • Ashley

      Yeah yeah!!! Give me 5!!! :D

      April 17, 2012 at 2:43 PM

Leave a Reply

