Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

The Best Pick-Me-Up

A friend was asking this on Facebook, “what will you do when you’re feeling moody”.

I am sure everyone of us has our very own pick-me-up way. However, what works on me, may not work on you; one man’s food is another man’s poison.

I have different stages of feeling moody, and they require different type of pick-me-up. From as simple as eating a piece of chocolate to as luxury as splurging on something expensive.

Sometimes, out of no reason, I feel moody the moment I get up from my bed. Totally not feeling like talking to anyone and nothing seems to excite me. I can’t get too moody due to my job nature, I have to take good care of my relationships with my colleagues. What I usually do is, step out of the office to have lunch. That usually helps. If so happens no one wants to go out with me, I’ll go buy myself an ice-cream. :)

When things aren’t going well at the workplace, I’ll usually go for a good dinner with Andrew. I know I shall not carry all those bad mood back home, I trash everything out before the dinner arrives. Then I’ll enjoy every bit of the dinner, and go home with a wide smile. :) This works every time for me! Somehow, I’ll forget how hard my day has been after a good dinner.

At times, people pissed me off big time. I feel annoyed, frustrated, upset and confused. The mood is at its lowest. I would sulk the rest of the day if I don’t do anything to cheer myself up. When this happens, I will usually tell Andrew I need to go shopping. At the end of it, whether I buy anything, doesn’t really matter at all. The process of walking around, seeing things, trying on new clothes and talking to Andrew, take my mind off whatever happened during the day. I’ll be so busy checking out the new clothes in the store or getting excited over some new gadgets. This works only when both Andrew and I are free after work.

What happens when I don’t get the chance to do all of the above to cheer myself up? Disaster! Ok, I’m just joking. I will talk and talk non-stop to Andrew, in the car and over the dinner. Good thing is, I’ll feel better after I talk about it. Poor Andrew, he has to listen to all my craps. :P I’ll just make sure I don’t bring the bad mood home.

When I go for retail therapy, I feel so much happier when I buy something. It has to be something that I like. Just last Friday, bought a dress at a discounted price. Right after I stepped out from the shop, I showed Andrew this wide grin and said, “I’m so happy!” It wiped away a week’s worth of bad mood! :D

Oh, there’s another thing. Wearing something that you like, or something with bright colors, can boost your mood too. :) It can be a pair of earrings that you love, a bold bracelet, a cute necklace…… It can be anything.

What’s your best pick-me-up?

P.S.: If you noticed, the pick-me-up’s I mentioned here do not involve taking a short trip or travelling. To me, it’s like a quick fix. It is something short-term that you will do to make yourself feel better immediately. To go on a trip usually involves planning, packing, driving and whatnots. Short trip has never come across my mind when I need to fix my mood quickly. I would only long for a trip when I am extremely stressed out.

Ice-cream has always been my bad mood’s quick fix. :)

4 responses

  1. I listen to some upbeat music and sing along. 1. Instant mood booster 2. The singing allows me to inhale and exhale thus increasing my intake of oxygen and providing the energy I usually lack beforehand.

    April 20, 2012 at 7:12 AM

    • Ashley

      Hello S! Thanks for liking my posts all this while! :)

      Oh, I must agree with you, music is one of the best pick-me-ups. Lately, I find myself singing out loud in the car, with my husband driving. Well, it frightened him sometimes. Hahaha.

      XOXO, Ashley

      April 20, 2012 at 10:35 AM

  2. My best pick me up would be dessert! Cakes or Ice Cream of course!! hahaha…
    Hmmm…shopping would be my 2nd alternative. ^^

    April 20, 2012 at 10:20 AM

    • Ashley

      You got sweet tooth lah! Hahahaha… How I wish I can eat ice-cream everyday leh….. Wuahahahahaha…..

      April 20, 2012 at 10:36 AM

Leave a Reply

