Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Cooking Is Easy

I have a face that makes people think that I, do not and cannot cook.

People have been asking me, “CAN you cook?”

Or, “DO you cook?”

The first question, is always a tricky one. Look, I didn’t have the chance to cook. So, do you think if I could cook?

I came from a typical Chinese family, the man of the house would always be the one who brings in the bacon and the woman of the house would always be the one who’s taking great care of the family. My mom, has never, ever asked us to cook. She would ask us to help her in the kitchen, but never did she ask us to cook. If we want to learn, by all means, stand there and watch. She is a great mom, she thinks that it is her duty to cook for the children and she doesn’t want us to get hurt while messing around in the kitchen. There is nothing wrong with her method, as a mother. You can’t blame her for over-protecting, you should blame the children for not taking much of the initiative to learn. So, you see, the need for me to cook, never arise at home.

Went to college, I started cooking, with my house-mates. What did we cook? Simple home-cooked dishes that could make us feel less home-sick. Well, can I cook? You asked. Of course I can cook. However, that was for the first 2 years. After that, I moved to another place and I never get the chance to cook again.

Renting is no fun, especially if you’re staying with a bunch of people who do not know how to take care of the house. I used to buy cooking utensils, before I had the chance to use them, my house-mates used them without even asking me. I have no problem with sharing, but the cooking utensils always ended up either left in the sink dirty or burnt! I stopped replacing the utensils and the idea of to cook again (in a rented place) vanished.

After I got married, the questions come again. Why is it that people think that you have to cook after you’re married?! For crying out loud, I’m married with the title of Mrs., not “Chef”!

When I was renovating my kitchen, a lot of people asked me, “why are you spending so much money on your kitchen since you don’t cook?” -__- I don’t cook now, does that mean I don’t cook forever? I can’t cook now, does that mean I can’t cook forever? So, I don’t cook, and I don’t need a kitchen?

For everyone of you who have ever doubted my ability to cook, I’m sorry to disappoint you, that I too, CAN COOK! And, I DO COOK!

You don’t know me, you don’t know what I’ve been through, what I’ve done before, don’t ever judge me.

Of course, I can’t say that I cook the best food, and I am still learning. The food I cook now, are mostly mama’s recipes. Guess what, I’ve never really learned from my mom. All these years, I learned by watching her preparing the food, eating what she cooked and I asked questions. Surprise? And you always say that I have a bad memory?

This is a story of don’t underestimate someone whom you think he/she is incapable of doing something. They are not doing it, doesn’t mean that they can’t.

Don’t worry, whatever I cook is edible. And I believe, I can cook like my mom too, soon. :)

Cooked myself some porridge when I was sick. It was easy.

Fried rice by Andrew! See, he can cook too! :D

Our home-cooked bak kut teh. :)

4 responses

  1. Why those people so ‘mean’ one…
    BTW…the BKT looks not bad…but other than ribs and pork..u din add others edi meh?

    April 26, 2012 at 11:25 AM

    • Ashley

      Those people are like that one lah. Some even doubted what I cooked can actually eat or not. :(

      That BKT hoh, impromptu de. Hahaha. Early morning Andrew went pasar bought pork jek, the rest tak beli pun. hahahahaha.

      April 26, 2012 at 5:53 PM

  2. chi sin…cook or not cook not their business – i suka la, blerrr…..

    Me can cook, so can u u u u….hahaha, tiru quotes from Martin Yan

    April 26, 2012 at 6:06 PM

    • Ashley

      Hahahaha… Martin Yan Can Cook ler! hahahaha… Thank you ah nic nic. :P

      April 26, 2012 at 6:15 PM

Leave a Reply

