Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Thistle, Port Dickson

I’ve written this last year, but only managed to find time to upload the photos now. Hahaha. :P

Last year, I was looking for a place for our third wedding anniversary getaway. My intention was merely a getaway for both of us, to be away from the bustling town and the nuisance from the house renovation.

Was tempted by Golden Palm Tree located in Sepang Gold Coast. It’s pretty pricey but was thinking to go for the experience at least once. Then remembered my colleague went to Thistle PD early last year and she rated highly of the place because it has a private beach. Checked out their promotions and was so happy to see they had the Spa Package at RM635 nett per room per night. Was so happy when I gotten the green light from Andrew. :D You can check out their various promotions HERE.

Reached Thistle around 1pm. There’s 4 desks in the lobby, 3 were opened. I got a little impatient after waiting for 10 minutes, then a staff came to me and asked if I wanted to do the check-in. She then told us they have upgraded our deluxe sea-view room to a honeymoon suite at no extra charges. Oh… Wow… I was shocked and I didn’t ask her why. Was thinking perhaps it’s just a suite that no one booked and they could just upgrade ours and rent out the vacated deluxe room then. Mr. Faizal then came to greet us and wished us happy anniversary. Oh yes, I left a remark when I booked the room online that we would be celebrating our 3rd wedding anniversary and hope they could decorate the room a little bit to make our stay more memorable.

Went to the honeymoon suite, my jaw dropped open and I gasped. Gosh, it is so huge! I was so excited to see the bathtub in the bedroom! The dressing area is so spacious! The shower area is big! Geez…… Head over heels in love with the suite.

The door to the backyard was faulty, called the room service and someone came to fix it in less than 15 minutes. Good service.

We went for a stroll at the beach. It was a weekend but it wasn’t crowded, we get to enjoy some quiet time by the beach, having fun with the swings. The pool in Thistle is huge too. There is a jacuzzi beside the pool as well! Gosh, I just love this place.

Since it’s a spa package, we went for the 1-hour spa treatment in the evening. Totally relaxing!

The swimming pool is huge too! There is this small jacuzzi at the side. The adults pool’s depth is of minimum 1.6 metres if I remember correctly. A bit challenging for me since I’m not a good swimmer. Andrew challenged me to the deeper one, I tried and I nearly drowned! Kanasai!!!!! What kind of husband is this! So, people, don’t ever challenge yourselves with your life!

The only negative point is the variety of breakfast. The roti Jala is delicious, but they didn’t replenish it quick enough. I only managed to have 2 small pieces. Also, they did not clear the empty plates from our table too. We were stacking all the empty plates. Perhaps they were having some big groups of people for some company events, short of hands.

Our stay in Thistle was definitely a pleasant one. I wouldn’t mind going back again, but guess we wouldn’t be so lucky next time to have them upgraded our room. Hahahaha.

Jaw dropped open the moment we opened the door!

There is a common toilet in hall area!

The mini bar.

The room with the bathtub!!! Lovely!

The king-size bed!

The shower area! Very nice!

Wash and dress area, with the toilet.

The door leading to the huge deck outside.

At the swimming pool. The jacuzzi at the far end.

Fruits basket complimentary of the hotel.

Surprise from the hotel! Not very nice, plus the ants were covering most of the cake when we came back from the massage! We ate the little corner untouched by the “merciful little friends”.

Another surprise!

3rd surprise! Thought Mr. Faizal would replace the flowers in the vase, instead they sent me a bouquet of fresh lilies! How lovely!

A late night soak before bed! Heaven!

The yummy roti Jala!

Had another stroll on the beach the next day. No crowds, it was nice.

Don’t we all love swing regardless of what your age is? :)

My man was totally enjoying it until his sandals got washed away by the waves! I was laughing hysterically! Lucky managed to get them back! Hahahahaha!

The beautiful empty field and pathway connecting the hotel and the beach.

Loved the lilies so much!

Last one, been wanting to do this, PLANKING! LOL! :

3 responses

  1. cheryldepartment

    Romantic!!

    May 2, 2012 at 11:48 AM

  2. WOW!! Everything is so niceee here… I’ve only visited the place for dinner and also jalan2 jek…but have not stayed there b4. YES! I like their private beach…hahahha…finally ur planking mission has succeed!! Happy Anniversary once again ;-)

    May 2, 2012 at 12:35 PM

    • Ashley

      Aiyoo… anniversary sudah lama lalu lah… hahahahaha…
      Their private beach so quiet and nice lah….

      May 2, 2012 at 2:00 PM

Leave a Reply

