Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

SK-II: Surprise Surprise

My first SK-II product was Advanced Eye Treatment Film. Started using it since last year September. I am now on second tube. Usually the beauty consultant will tell you a full size (15ml) eye gel/cream will last you 3 months, but this eye gel from SK-II could last me 5 months! Yes, you read me right,  5 months. Although it is in gel form, it is not watery. I use it twice a day, morning and night. The amount I apply is slightly bigger than a grain of rice, and that is enough for both eyes. I don’t see any big improvement on my dark under eye circles, but the skin around my eyes is not so dry anymore.

I’ve been helping my sister buying SK-II Facial Treatment Essence. I never had the urge to try until last year. My uneven skin tone became pretty visible. I also noticed the pores were getting larger. I realised that the amount of foundation that I had to apply was getting heavier.  Every morning I woke up to enlarged pores and dry skin. Was pretty sad that my skin condition was deteriorating. I’m only at my early 30’s, why I age so fast??!! *Cries* :( I used to have good skin, but I guess you can’t fight the ageing process that’s happening every minute and second.

Early this year, I finally managed to buy the Facial Treatment Essence trial pack that costs RM199. It comes with a 75ml of Facial Treatment Essence, a piece of Facial Treatment Mask and a 30ml of Facial Treatment Clear Lotion (toner).

Two months after using the Facial Treatment Essence (half a bottle of the so-called “miracle water”), I saw no miracle at all. :( My facial skin condition was still the same, still having the the uneven skin tone, red blotches were still visible on my cheeks when I did not apply foundation. Was disappointed with the essence and I proclaimed to myself that my skin would not get any better. :(

Lately, I’ve noticed some improvements! After 4 months of using the essence, I have more even skin tone now! Hurray!!! I no longer wake up to enlarged pores and dry skin, there’s no red blotches on my face anymore and I use little foundation now! The most surprising one would be the 3 tiny dark spots under my left eye, they’re lighter now! I noticed that few days ago when I was applying concealer. They were still visible after the concealer but now, hardly visible! I am so delighted. :)

Now, let’s look at how I apply the essence first. There has been 2 different methods of applying the Facial Treatment Essence. Some said pour the essence onto the facial cotton and dab it all over your face. Some said pour the essence onto the palm and apply to your face directly. Those who used the latter argued that by using the facial cotton, some of the essence would be absorbed by the cotton and it is a waste. The essence is not cheap, you definitely don’t want to waste any of it. There is no right or wrong, it simply depends on how you prefer to do it.

At the beginning, I used the first method, by using my palms. Kiasu mah, also don’t want to waste any of it mah. Then, when I had breakouts, I remember my sister pressing the facial cotton (with the essence in it) directly on the breakouts and it seems to soothe the skin. So, I did the same. Surprise!!! It really soothed the pimple/zit and the area was no longer reddish and swollen!

Then, I decided to use the facial cotton. I’ll dab it all over my face and stays longer on the eye areas and areas that needs extra care, such as the cheeks and nose. I feel that the essence is best absorb this way. You don’t dab across your face quickly, you have to dab gently and slowly. It’s like dab-and-press.

Wastage? Not really. I’ll dab around my face and neck until the cotton is totally dry, and then I’ll rub it against my elbows. :D I usually pour 2 drops, and 3 drops if I have breakouts. Also, avoid applying the essence with the fan blowing on full blast. It’s essence, but it is watery. With the wind blowing strongly the essence dry up very fast! You may think that the essence absorbs very fast but in fact, it’s been blown dry lah! That is so wasting!

So, it IS indeed the “miracle water” huh. :) Guess the miracle took longer to happen to me. :P

One bottle of 75ml Facial Treatment Essence could last me 4 months, whereby the beauty consultant told me it would only last 2 to 3 months! Gosh…… Cannot waste such an expensive stuff like that lah! Must treasure every drop of it!

I’ve bought another bottle recently and would like to see what it can do if I use it long-term. See if it can still work miracles and improves the skin around my eyes. :D

I have yet to try the facial mask, heard that it can instantly boost moisture level and leave skin looks younger! Who doesn’t want that huh? :P

I have also bought this Facial Treatment Cleansing Oil. Hmm…… Although it cleanses pretty well and doesn’t leave my skin feeling oily, I’m not going to buy this again. It contains mineral oil. :( Found out only after I bought it! It’s weird, for such a high-end brand to use mineral oil in its products. Clinique doesn’t use mineral oil in its cleansing oil and oil-based make-up remover. This is bad coming from SK-II. So people, please read the ingredients of the product first before you purchase. If you’re sensitive to any particular ingredients, DO NOT buy even others tell you that their product is different.

Read lots of reviews on SK-II, they’re really confusing. If you seriously want to see how good it is, by all means, go try it out. RM199 for a 75ml of Facial Treatment Essence, is worth to try. If you think RM199 is expensive, well, if it doesn’t work on you, it is expensive and you stop using and buying. As simple as that. If it does work, trust me, RM199 is cheaper compared to using a range of products which could cost hundreds that don’t really work. I wish it could be cheaper though. Seriously, if their products are so good, why do they still need heavy advertisements and all the celebrity spokespersons? If the 75ml Facial Treatment Essence costs only RM170, I believe more people would want to try. That, would be a better marketing strategy. Well, I’m only gonna use this Facial Treatment Essence and eye gel. Will not want to try its other products. I still love Clinique better. :)

3 responses

  1. Pingback: SK-II: The Journey Continues | Fish Avenue

  2. ella fadzillah

    Hi there, I have been googling the price of FTE, but no one comes out on how long will it last. I went to the sk2 booth in parkson, and they gave me a 10ml sample, and i try the product for 2 weeks (sangat kedekut cara penggunaan i ok? hehe) , and i realise there is a difference. I think I am going to purchase the FTE.

    August 3, 2013 at 9:16 AM

    • Ashley

      Hi, thanks for dropping by. Glad to hear that it works ok on you too. :)

      August 7, 2013 at 4:13 PM

Leave a Reply

