Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Am Still A Shopaholic

I noticed I have not been blogging about my shopaholic side. I still shop pretty often, but I do not BUY like I used to. If at all I buy, it would only be 1 or 2 pieces. Unlike in the past, I could buy for a week’s wear of clothes.

Reason of me not buying as I used to is because most of the money has now gone to the house. I find myself linger longer in the grocery and household departments. Amazing huh? Owning a HOME can change a person so much.

Having said the above, when the shopaholic me is on the loose, it is still a scary one. Now, the word of “SALE” could make me go all wide-eyed and excited like a bee sees the honey. :P

I’ve been waiting for MNG sale, for some working clothes. The first time I went to the one in Mid Valley Megamall, I bought a pair of pants and skirt. Damn the long queue to the fitting room, bought the pants without trying and I can’t fit into the pants!!! What the…… MNG always has this problem of inconsistent sizes! Gotta go home ask mom if the pants could be altered. :( If not, that is RM69 wasted!

Second trip to MNG in KLCC, my goodness…… I was alone and I shopped like there was no tomorrow! Finally, got what I wanted. Went home with a wide smile and a guilty heart.

Got the dress at RM99, the long-sleeves at RM69 each (RM99 before sale), short-sleeves at RM49 (RM69 before sale), jacket at RM169 (RM259 before sale) and the pencil skirt with belt at RM69 (RM99 before sale). Love the dress and the jacket heaps! :D

Some may have noticed that MNG’s dresses now are cheaper, don’t be fooled. A lot of them are of lower quality and they don’t even have lining for sheer material. Those sheer material selling at RM99 or some even cheaper at RM69, I wouldn’t even think of buying them for the sake of “cheap”. Don’t want to risk walking around in a see-through dress! Or worse, they only last a few washes. This particular dress I bought is one of the few that I seriously think the material is worth the price. For those with better quality, nah… They ain’t cheap, still selling at RM149 and above. Also, the designs now are a bit trashy. A lot of them are more suitable for party wear. Hope you get what I mean. So, to get a dress that you can wear to work in MNG now is a challenge. It’s either too expensive, low quality or trashy.

With the limited dime, you just gotta make every dime of yours count. I don’t buy casual wear now, such as round-collar top. I spend about 80% of my time at work, we’re not allowed to even wear round-collar t-shirts for the casual Fridays. So, I only buy top that I can wear to work but also casual enough if I want to wear it during weekends.

You must think that I am crazy to spend so much in MNG alone. Sigh…… I know, I know. I’m broke now. When the Zara sale comes later, I think I’ll just have to set myself a limit.

Few weeks ago, went to La Senza to get some new panties. I don’t really fancy their bras, will only buy some of them during sale, for that cheekiness. :P Love their panties though! They’re so colourful and pretty. Most of them are pretty comfortable to wear. Again, you have to know what you’re comfortable with and choose only the right ones. Sometimes what looks pretty may not be nice to wear.

And then, bought another pair of LuiLui heels 2 months ago. AHHH!!! Evil!!!

There, confession of a shopaholic, I’ve done it. @__@

It’s a good thing that Andrew doesn’t really bother with me shopping, he has this principle that it’s my money, how I want to use it is my call. He too knows that I do spend for the house. It’s also a bad thing that he doesn’t stop me. Very often that if he were to open his mouth to tell me that I don’t need new clothes anymore, I would just not buy. Sigh…… Dilemma. -__-

6 responses

  1. I like the 2 long sleeve blouse u bought from MNG. And I oso like your Lui Lui strappy heel….the color is nice ;-)

    June 21, 2012 at 10:06 AM

    • Ashley

      Hehehe… Tomorrow let me wear one of the long sleeves :D

      June 21, 2012 at 2:34 PM

  2. Blurcheryl

    I agree, once u got your own home u, household and living stores will attracts you. Even newspaper advertisement. Although I am staying in my own home now, I am more excited to move to new place and already buying useless stuff for the new home :(

    Shopaholic always have reason to justify all purchases dont you think?

    June 22, 2012 at 6:54 PM

    • Ashley

      “Shopaholic always have reason to justify all purchases dont you think?” — I agree!!! LOL!!! Now I need new dress for my sister’s wedding next week. :D Wuahahahahaha…..

      June 25, 2012 at 4:47 PM

  3. Blurcheryl

    Wah.. Shopaholic will never change de lar.. hahaha
    So nice can shop la you. Eh I notice that Lui Lui shoes, not all made in Malaysia some is from China – Bianli brand. Feel cheated coz the price aint cheap. Found a new shop recently, ChristyNg.com and the shoe is rav to be comfortable too. Check it out! You can go to her shop to try too.

    July 28, 2012 at 12:43 AM

    • Ashley

      Cheryl, you are so right, shopaholic will never change lah. LOL!
      Huh… Maybe the LuiLui shoes now got factory in China jor. :( I saw a lot of people bought from christ ng recently. Will check it out if I had the chance.
      I still love the LuiLui black heels ler, thinking to get another pair since the one I have is going to “retire” soon liao. -__-

      July 30, 2012 at 1:33 PM

Leave a Reply

