Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Total Recall 2012

I know, I know…… Some of you may already have that question at your lips/fingertips, waiting for the right moment to ask, “since when you become a movie critic, Ashley?”

I’m not a movie critic, or movie reviewer or whatever you may call it. It’s just that, I LOVE watching movies. Going to the cinema and catch a good movie is considered therapeutic to me. Writing about what I have watched is a way for me to remember how I felt there and then about the movies. Sometimes after I read again on how I felt about a certain movie, I end up watching the movie a second time, or third time. Also, this little brain of mine seems to often forget what movies I’ve watched. To have a record of the movies I’ve seen, seems like a better idea than keeping all the ticket stubs. :)

I’ve missed out chances of catching a few good movies in the cinema. Last week, it was the payback time. :D Andrew and I managed to catch a few good ones consecutively! Ahhh…… Do you know that it is a bliss to be able to go to the cinema for a movie? :)

When I saw the trailer of Total Recall, I was stunned. I told Andrew, “seriously?! They did a remake of Arnold’s Total Recall!” I was excited and sceptical at the same time. Excited with the cast, Colin Farrell, Jessica Biel and Kate Beckinsale, this is something I don’t want to miss. Sceptical with the story, the backbone of the original story is there, but the environment is different. How could you remake a movie in a different environment? Wouldn’t it change the course of the story?

Colin Farrell looked so young in this movie, is he really that young? Or perhaps those other movies made him looks old. You gotta admit that he’s a good actor despite his personal life. I first know him from Phone Booth, Andrew was the one told me, “you gotta see this poor fella stuck in the phone booth being played around by another man”. Then, he just got more and more famous.

Okay, back to the movie. The story is a little different from the original, set in a new background, but the essence of the story is still there. I must say, impressive. Love the new age and city, and all the technologies…… There were a few scenes that even got me went “WOW”. I can safely say that it is better than Total Recall of 12 years ago. And Colin Farrell is definitely more handsome than Arnold Schwarzenegger. :P

Sci-fi fans, this movie is your thing. For those who don’t like sci-fi story, you are going to have a tough time understanding the story behind. Required lots of imaginations. :) Any lacking in imaginations and interests, will definitely make you go “huh?” Don’t expect interesting dialogues or conversations in the movie, you won’t find it. :P Just enjoy the thrills that a sci-fi movie can bring. :)

 

Leave a Reply

