Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

The Diamonds I Have

When I was much younger (and much more innocent), I truly believed in best friend forever. I thought best friends would never “break up”.

When I got older, I learned that best friends hurt the deepest.

When I learned it the hard way, I know even best friends grew out of each other’s life.

I finally understand, there are no best friends forever.

However, I now have more friends than ever who truly care about me.

They are the diamonds I found.

I sometimes wonder, what have I done in my past life to be able to go through some friendship that turned sour and still make new friends along the way.

Some may not be as lucky as me, they lost some friends and they could never make new friends.

I am so grateful and lucky to have such caring friends.

We don’t see each other very often, we don’t go out together every week, and we don’t really contact each other everyday. However, they would text me asking me how I am doing when they don’t hear from me for some time. When things happen, these are the people who sincerely show their concerns. Instead of throwing you tonnes of questions that you got so tired of answering, they only show you that they care by merely be there. Although nothing much they can do, I take comfort in knowing a friend who truly care about my well being.

I don’t label friends to best friends or bad friends anymore. Friends that care, I appreciate and remember them. Friends who don’t care or care less, I don’t feel bad either.

I don’t have best friends now, only true friends that I care about. I don’t want to put them in the best friends position, they’re more than just best friends. These are the people who truly have you in their heart.

They are like diamonds, keep my path bright when I need the light.

2 responses

  1. Actually I don’t like labeling ‘best friend’. Becos when you say ‘best’ means you expect more and trust them the most. If thing goes wrong..you will be deeply hurt. I prefer to have ‘close friends’ than only 1 ‘best friend’.. CHEERS ;-)

    October 12, 2012 at 1:47 PM

    • Ashley

      Yalor. Sometimes may not be thing goes wrong, but just suddenly “terputus”. Better like us, long long only meet once. Hahahahaha.

      October 12, 2012 at 6:05 PM

Leave a Reply

