Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

The Fat. The Sweat. The Machine.

I am blessed with a body that doesn’t get fat easily. I can eat whatever I want and still be slim. I don’t exercise a lot, in fact, exercise was never a part of life until recently.

Over the years, I have put on weight. However, I am still slim, just a bit meaty here and there.

Heard enough news of healthy people fell sick suddenly, I got worried about myself and Andrew. We’ve been eating out for the past 12 years, I can’t imagine what kind of rubbish are accumulating inside our bodies. So, we start exercising.

It was only early this year that we start exercising, but exercise still wasn’t a routine that we would do every week. We only exercised as and when we felt like to. Holidays, travelling between our home-towns, meeting up with friends, working late during weekdays…… All sorts of excuses and reasons. :P

I was getting my body into a good exercise routine before I got pregnant. Then I stopped until I miscarried. Last week, I finally felt healthy and comfortable enough to go back to the gym.

Did not exercise for two months and it was difficult for me to pick up the rhythm again. Took me two days of exercising consecutively for 45 minutes to finally stop panting so much. By the way, I only do stationery cycling. :P I hate jogging or using the treadmill, don’t like the impact it makes on my body and legs.

Measured my waist on Monday and I got the shock of my life, 28.5 inches!!! Holy cow!!! I used to be 24 when I was much, much younger, then few years back it went up to 26 and I thought it had stayed 26 ever since. Last week, I couldn’t wear a pair of pants that I’ve been wearing this year, and all the other pants were so tight on the waist I had to let go of the button whenever I could. That got me curious. 28.5 inches!!! I still can’t believe that!!! No wonder all the pants are so tight now! (I have no problems with the skirts, as most of my skirts are low cut and if I ever got fatter, I just need to wear them higher.) My jeans are all stretchable, which is why I don’t feel the tightness when I wear jeans!

My tummy is pretty big too, I thought I had an infection or something growing inside my tummy after the miscarriage, it looks like I’m 3-4 months pregnant! I must get rid of this tummy!

Worse thing is, my slender thighs now decided that they want to meet each other in the middle of the road! Holy moly!!! I stood in front of the mirror and I saw my inner thighs are meeting and “caressing” each other in the middle!!! OH NO!!! That is disaster!!! My legs and thighs which will-never-seem-to-get-bigger are now getting, bigger!

I am not obsessed with having a skinny body, but now all this fat-growing episodes lately are freaking me out. I need to at least remain the way I look, I can’t let my size to grow from S to M. That is because, I can’t afford to change my whole wardrobe and I would be heart-broken if I can’t fit into those lovely dresses that I have now. T__T I just want to stay the same, not thinner or fatter.

Surprisingly and weird, my weight doesn’t seem to go up. I was 52kgs early this year, and now I am still 52kgs. Funny huh, with all those fats growing, the weight should at least go up by 1 or 2kgs. *Shrugs*

So now, I have successfully incorporated the fat, the sweat and the machine into my daily life. I try to exercise if not everyday, at least 3 days a week.

I feel great when I workout. If you don’t have time to go to the gym, just a 30-minute run around the park nearby or in your neighbourhood is good enough. Trust me, do that 3 times a day and you can maintain your shape. :) I’ll get a jump rope in the future, so that I don’t need to go to the gym so often. And yes, jump-roping is one of many cardio exercises.

P.S.: According to experts, cardio/aerobics exercises won’t make your calves or arms look like Mr. Universe. :P Heavy muscles training does. Cardio/Aerobics exercises only help you burn fats and build muscles on a small scale. With proper warm-up and stretching before and after the exercise, you won’t become like Mr. Universe. :P Yay!!!

6 responses

  1. Great to hear you’re training ; your body , and most importantly, your family will benefit :)

    October 19, 2012 at 7:57 PM

    • Ashley

      Hi Jon, yes, it’s good to be exercising and I’m trying to get my husband to do as much too. Nice blog you have there, very informative. :)

      October 22, 2012 at 8:40 AM

  2. Ash you better shaddup about the weight n fat issue. Gosh so thin yet complain? Not fair not fair not fair

    October 25, 2012 at 9:05 PM

    • Ashley

      LOL!!!! I’m not complaining that I’m FAT lah, just want to improve my shape. :P Kakakaka. Also, good to exercise mah, not just for the shape but also for the health. :D

      October 29, 2012 at 12:19 PM

  3. Well. As long as you are healthy.

    mt
    Meitzeu @ Blog
    Meitzeu @ Facebook
    Meitzeu @ Twitter

    November 3, 2012 at 6:33 PM

    • Ashley

      Hello Meitzeu,

      Thanks for dropping by. :) Great blog you have there!

      November 6, 2012 at 2:56 PM

Leave a Reply

