Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

The Social Network

It all started with friends sharing with each other what’s happening with their life.

Now, it has become a tool for people to boast about themselves.

We all have boasted about ourselves. Don’t act all innocent and tell me you have never done it.

Some argue that it is for our friends to know what is happening in our life, it’s about sharing. Well, I guess you don’t have to share about your hair color changed every month, your relationship with your partner everyday, you have a pimple today, you did not put on any make-up today, you had a diarrhoea this morning……

I think we are abusing the “sharing”.

Sometimes I wonder, when we posted a photo of ourselves, what do we expect to get? That our friends would “like” our photos? That others would comment that we are beautiful? To show others that we are pretty?

I too, am guilty of the above. However, I do it less frequent now, as I don’t see a point of posting a photo of myself to the social network any more.

I do not post “status” any more. I would like my life to remain private from people that I’m not close with.

I do not “check-in” to places I’ve been to as well. I have gotten sick of people telling me that I’ve been going or eating out a lot.

I now do not share what I cook any more.

So, you may ask, why do I need the social network for?

I read news about what is going on with the world, get myself inspired with some other great people, share stuff that I think is meaningful and useful, communicate with close friends, share music or videos that I think is cool, share photos of food that I think is nice, sometimes a photo or two of myself and what I’m doing, some interesting stuff that I saw……

I have a restricted group of people that I don’t share everything with. Those people have never taken interest in my life and I would like them to stay that way. I may sound mean, but that is me. I even rejected “friend requests” from friends that I am not close with. My friends list now does not grow. If it wasn’t because of some mutual friends, I would have deleted even more.

Is social network the same as blogging? Hmm…… I would love to think that they’re different.

Bloggers write, not boast. :) Although there are some exceptional cases.

So, are you boasting or sharing?

2 responses

  1. One thing for sure I love sharing is….FOOD! (if you know me well…hahaha!)
    And sometimes a lil of camwhoring… kekeke… Of cos its cool to see the growing number of ‘likes’ :-p
    But I know the only thing I least share is about how my partner treats me. How well he treated or pampers me…that’s for me to know. I hardly even writes about that. I don’t want ppl to feel that I showing off or boasting perhaps.

    December 10, 2012 at 2:39 PM

    • Ashley

      Yalah, you always “kill” people with the food photos de. Sometimes hungry time and saw ur photos, walau ehhhh…..
      Eh, I got blog about how well Andrew treats me ler. LOL! I have seen worse ler mel mel………. Later I story to you :P

      December 10, 2012 at 4:06 PM

Leave a Reply

