Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

G.I. Joe: Retaliation

How long since I last went to the cinema and watched a movie? My goodness, that was before Chinese New Year! New record! I don’t know why and what we are busy with, Andrew and I just can’t seem to have the time for movie even during weekends. Two weeks ago, Andrew’s colleague gave him some TGV complimentary tickets, we went to the cinema twice and there wasn’t any good movies on. Until G.I. Joe came.

When we saw the trailer of G.I. Joe: Retaliation last year, we thought “whoa! cool!” However, 30 minutes into the movie and I felt disappointed.

Characters weren’t well introduced, most of them were there in the movie for show. The main actor in The Rise of Cobra, Duke (Channing Tatum) died too soon in this sequel. Storyline is weak. Snake Eyes didn’t get to show off much of his ninja skills. Storm Shadow looked so weak. If Lady Jaye is there to show how pretty she is, I seriously wish the director would get someone who is really pretty and has the character, like Megan Fox. This Lady Jaye just doesn’t have that look. The Rock is again the muscle guy that can’t act. :( G.I. Joe is famous for its high-tech weapons and gadgets, but we don’t see many of that in the movie!

What is wrong with the sequel? :( There were even a few scenes which I honestly think that they are stupid. Also, there were jokes that didn’t even sound funny. When someone pushed the crates and they tumbled on Storm Shadow and he fell, I was like, “what the…… He is a ninja, c’mon! How could a ninja get hit by crates???!!!”

If you’re not a fan of G.I. Joe, you may skip this movie. If you’re looking for action movie, this isn’t your cup of tea either. If you’re a fan of Bruce Willis, please choose his other movies to watch, don’t waste your time.

Honestly, this movie didn’t make a big impression on me. I won’t even watch it for second time. The first movie was so impressive, but the second just failed. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

