Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

My New-found Passion

I was struggling to find what I really love doing. It was all over the place and I wanted to do so many things. Andrew told me to take my time to find it, it is not something that you can rush. There wasn’t one thing that I really LOVE doing and commit to it. Until, now. It was just like what people always say, you find it when you least expect it.

Recently, I found that I actually enjoy baking. :)

I enjoy cooking too. Whenever I can, I will cook. However, I don’t like the “aftermath” of cooking a meal. So many things to wash! Pans, pots, spatula, spoons, plates, bowls, chopsticks, chopping boards, knife…… And so much of waste to throw!!! I’m really lazy to cook whenever I think of that……

Whereas for baking, usually is just the mixing bowl, mixer, spatula, baking tray and measuring cup. See! Lesser things to wash and clean up. Also, it’s fast to actually whip up something to bake. Once you master the steps, it’s so easy. Mix everything up, put in the baking tray and into the oven, “DING”! Done. And the house would be smelling heavenly of baked stuff instead of smelling oily or stinky of the food you just cooked.

However, being an Aries, the biggest challenge is to make a new challenge/passion last. I am worried that this new-found passion will only last for a couple of months. I have to find new “challenges” for myself if I want this passion to last. So, I start baking for friends, colleagues and family. I make it a habit to bake at least once a week, be it cookies or cupcakes or muffins. I have to keep looking for new recipes. I have to keep exploring rather than feeling “safe” with the one-and-only recipe. I have to keep challenging myself!

My new mission is, learn to bake pineapple tarts! Andrew is a pineapple tarts fanatic. He can finish a whole jar of pineapple tarts within minutes!!! We only get to see or eat pineapple tarts during Chinese New Year. If I could bake it on my own, I can have it any time I want. When Andrew heard that I want to learn how to bake pineapple tarts, “GOOD! I like pineapple tarts!” First time he gave me respond like that on baking! Ish……. Just because it’s what he likes…… @__@

PhotoGrid_1384332292082

6 responses

  1. Sadaf

    Good luck! Keep it up, if it is your real passion. It wouldn’t ever end so early. :)

    November 13, 2013 at 7:13 PM

  2. Heidie Makes

    I want to try these!

    November 13, 2013 at 10:35 PM

  3. GOOD!
    I like cooking. Next time you bake…I cook. Chehh wahhh….HAHA!
    I also love pineapple tarts wor…. If you want an easier way… those baking shops got sell the ready made pineapple jam specially for making pineapple tarts wan.

    November 14, 2013 at 2:59 PM

    • Ashley

      LOL! We can partner liao. Next time u want bake apa u let me know, I bake for u. Hahahaha.
      Next week I’ll try the pineapple tarts ah. If ok then CNY we can eat liao. Hahahahaha.

      November 14, 2013 at 3:22 PM

      • Yes…we be Kitchen in Crime! Wahahha! :-D

        November 14, 2013 at 3:42 PM

      • Ashley

        Wuahahahahaha! Hopefully won’t burn the kitchen. LOL!

        November 14, 2013 at 4:02 PM

Leave a Reply

