Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

The Truth Box. That You Can’t Imagine.

A while back, someone on Facebook shared Dan Pearce’s blog post on 25 more of the Creepiest Things Ever Said by Kids. I’ve been following his blog ever since.

Today, I read this, Pulled from the Truth Box – Week 29.

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a great battle.” ~Philo of Alexandria

He started the post with the above. How apt.

I was surprised and sad that people are not what we think they are. They are going through things which we would never have thought. We only see things on the surface and we make our own judgements and assumptions from that. How shallow we are.

We often want others to understand what we are going through, but we fail to understand what others are really going through. We see a happy face that someone puts up, immediately we think that he is fine now and everything is back to normal again. We fail to recognise the fact that it is so easy to hide our true emotions or secrets if we really try.

Look at those confessions, some of them clearly need help. However, no one can help them if they continue to keep their secrets, a secret. Why is it so hard for someone to say that they need help? Are people around them so cruel that they refuse to help? I can’t imagine what they are going through…… It must be very difficult to hide all of it and show the opposite. No wonder the rate of suicide is so high. :(

I too hide things, especially from my colleagues. They don’t know what I’m going through in life. They hardly know me, except the part of me that they see at work. I don’t hide my true self from them on purpose, it’s just that I see no need to show them that side of me.

I have one confession that I would like to make here, in the blogosphere, to the whole world.

What everyone thinks is true:
I am a strong and confident person that I can take any challenge life throws at me.

What actually is true:
I don’t want the world to see me cry, so I cry in the bathroom when I’m tired of pretending that I am strong.

Don’t be disturbed by what I wrote above. I am perfectly fine.

Now, people, don’t go and judge someone when you don’t know the story behind. Remember, you can hurt someone badly when he’s already so wounded. “We all are fighting our own great battles”, be kind to everyone.

20130713_134229_mh1375965766488

Leave a Reply

