Life is the art of drawing without an eraser ~ John W. Gardner

Interstellar 2014

I’m a fan of sci-fi movies, not a huge fan, but as long as it is entertaining and not too exaggerating, I’ll watch. When I saw the trailer of Interstellar, I know I gotta watch it.

Matthew McConaughey is a great actor, no question about it. Anne Hathaway is also a great actress, and beautiful. Then there’s the director, Christopher Nolan. How could one miss a movie like this? And I still have 2 TGV Amber passes that I won from Kinokuniya book contest, thought I’d better use them before they expire.

Going to the cinema for movie is not cheap nowadays. We went on Saturday, one movie ticket is RM16! The movie passes only gave us discount of RM9 each! Still had to top up RM14 for 2 movie tickets! Since when the price gone up to RM16? My goodness! One popcorn regular set that comes with a regular cup of popcorn and one medium size of soft drinks, cost RM10.90! It was only RM8.50 last year! @__@ Sorry for the out-of-topic rant.

Interstellar was an interesting movie. It’s a little similar to Gravity, but Interstellar has more stories to tell. The story between the father and daughter, the story of making promises, the story of the end of the world, the story of humanity, the story of gravity, the story of life beyond earth…… In fact, too many stories that I find it a little hard to digest. There was a point I got so irritated with the story and I was paying so much attention to the dialogue that I felt my head spinning! Especially towards the end I was trying so hard to understand all the “gravity beyond time” stuff.

I can’t say that I enjoyed the movie very much. I, again felt what I felt when I watched Gravity last year. However, this time minus the feeling of restless. I finally reached the conclusion that, although I love sci-fi movies like Star Wars and Star Trek, I don’t like “space” movies. I am fascinated with our universe, but I don’t think I enjoy watching movies like Gravity and Interstellar. You may tell me that Star Trek is also similar to exploring the universe. I know, but that is more like adventure and action. Interstellar is more like reality, too much of information to digest, it sorts of killed the entertaining part.

Well, it could be just me. Andrew enjoyed the movie very much, just like how he enjoyed Gravity. Ok, ok, it is me. So, if you’re like me, and you didn’t like Gravity, don’t waste your time watching Interstellar. You’ll be gritting your teeth and wishing the movie will end faster.

Anyway, despite the story, I did enjoy the visual and the occasional action scenes. What surprised me was, Matt Damon played a small part in the movie too!

I almost forgot, Hans Zimmer done the music for the movie. No wonder I felt a bit of familiarity when I heard the musics throughout the movie. I must say the musics created perfect mood every time.

Leave a Reply

