IKEA Or Not? #5

Wow, it’s almost 2 years ago since I last blogged about what I bought from IKEA for my home. Of course, I still shop in IKEA. Mainly small items which I don’t think worth to blog. Recently got some big (okay, not really that big lah, chest of drawers and chair lor) items from IKEA again. I would say worth every penny.

We were busy clearing and cleaning our bedroom to welcome the baby. Since we can’t fit all the baby stuff in our built-in wardrobe, I thought of getting a new chest of drawers from IKEA. I’ve decided that all baby furnitures/fittings must be in white, I do not want any headache thinking what theme color for the baby’s room in the future. Been looking through IKEA website and decided to get this Brimnes chest of drawers that cost RM339, good enough for baby stuff.

brimnes-chest-of-drawers-white__rm339

However, when we were in IKEA and Andrew saw this ↓

brimnes-chest-of-drawers-white__rm369

“Isn’t this more worth it and cheaper?” I checked the price, RM369! Just RM30 more and I get a bigger chest! Geez…… Lucky Andrew saw it, else I would be banging my head. It further proves that this is a good buy, I get to store Lucy’s stuff and clothes and the bottom drawer for my cosmetic and skincare. The quality is good. Love how easy it is to pull out the drawer. Now I have another headache, gotta baby-proof all the drawers in the future. :(

Then we picked up some textiles for baby. We’ve gone to other supermarkets to look for bedsheet and quilt, they’re so expensive! I can’t believe bedsheet and quilt for baby are almost the same price with adult size. IKEA is still cheaper.

fantasidjur-quilt-cover-pillowcase-for-cot__rm29.9

 Fantasidjur quilt cover with pillow case – RM29.90

skamtsam-quilt-cover-pillowcase-for-cot__rm39.90

Skamtsam quilt cover with pillow case – RM39.90

jollra-bumper-pad__rm59

 Jollra cot bumper pad – RM59

len-quilt-for-cot-white__rm49.9

LEN quilt for cot – RM49.90

len-fitted-sheet-for-cot-white__rm39.9

LEN fitted sheet for cot 2 pieces – RM39.90

leka-rattle__rm11.90

Leka rattle – RM11.90 (Bought this because they’re so cute)

Since Andrew’s mom would be coming and we need more kitchen storage for all the stuff needed during my confinement, we bought some shelves to be put in the kitchen. We bought two OMAR shelving unit, at RM119 each. Very sturdy. You can adjust the height of the shelf to your need. The only cons is stuff may slip off the shelf since it’s edge-less. What Andrew did to one of the shelves is to reverse the top shelf, bottom-up. We put mugs and dishes on it and don’t have to worry they’ll slip off.

omar-shelving-unit__rm119

On our way out to the cashier, we picked up this Helmer drawer unit with castors. It was on special price for RED color, I can’t remember exactly how much it was. The original price is RM139, we got it definitely lower than RM100, maybe RM88. I use it as a bed-side table for baby’s and my stuff. I must say this is another good buy too. I can organise my stuff into each different drawer. The not-so-good point is that the drawers do not have “stopper”, you have to be careful when you open it. If you open it too fast, the whole drawer will just slide out and you may hurt yourself. Again, headache now that I too have to baby-proof this. -__-

helmer-drawer-unit-on-castors-white__rm139

In another visit, we saw this Poang armchair on special price! It was so cheap! Normal price is RM269, during Chinese New Year it was RM189. Of course, only RED color was on promotion. Without hesitation, Andrew bought it. He said very worth it wor, as my dad bought a Pello armchair which has slightly lower quality at RM169. I asked him where are we going to put this chair, the living room already has a rattan chair. He said he would find some place to put. Men, when they want something, there’s no stopping them.

poang-armchair__RM269

We didn’t buy a changing table. For me, I thought just change baby on our bed lah, easier and we get to sit down. Just buy a waterproof changing mat will do. Andrew’s friend, upon hearing that I was pregnant, immediately offered to lend us his changing table. He said no need to buy, just borrow will do ’cause only use it for few months, and he too lent it to his sister. So grateful to have friends like this. It turned out that the changing table is useful. Actually it’s not expensive, it’s just that if we were to buy it, we will have to either give it away or find some place to keep it.

sniglar-changing-table-white__rm99

Sniglar changing table – RM99 (not including the mat)

I’m lucky that I bought my baby cot and cot mattress from a friend, almost like giving for free as she sold them to me cheap! Can’t imagine how much I will have to spend if I had to buy a new one.

That’s it for now for our IKEA trips. Going to make another trip soon.

Leave a comment